• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Bedrest

Can I just say… I’m officially obsessed with Greek yogurt?! I will never voluntarily buy the regular yogurt again!  Oikos does it right and I can’t wait to try some other brands too!  The blueberry fruit on the bottom yogurt was exceptional.  I was totally satisfied and happy after eating it for my afternoon snack.

I came home to a wonderfully made meal tonight.

Roasted broccoli.

And this.

This was my favorite kind we’ve tried yet!

All together now with some barbecue grilled chicken.

This Barbecue sauce is money!  Look for it in a store near you.  I’m so proud of our Memphis barbecue sauce.  Way to do it right Memphis!

How did this roll get into my hands?!

I’ll take it.  I’m such a bread fanatic.  🙂

With a little bit of chocolate for dessert.  The bunny is almost gone!

Well, with such a great post, there comes some bad news.  My right big toenail will not heal for anything and I discovered today that my second toenail on my right foot (that I had a feeling would fall off) is only attaced 1/4 of the way.  I had pulled away a callous that had built up on that toe and lo and behold, it release 3/4 of the edges of my toenail along with it.  It doesn’t hurt but I have it secured with a bandaid because I don’t want it to be snagged off.

I talked with some of our doctors that were out on the floor and they demanded to see my foot as much as I pleaded and begged them not to make me take my sock off because it is quite the ugly sight.  Inevitably, I let them see, polishless, yucky and all and they promptly informed me that I needed to see a podiatrist.  Well, I was in luck.  One of our first assist doctors during surgeries has a son that is a podiatrist just a couple of blocks away so I quickly called him and made an appointment.  My appointment is two weeks from Friday and I have been forbidden to really do anything on my feet but walk.  What?!  You mean no running?  No biking?

Let’s just say, I’m going to be a non-compliant patient with the biking rule.  I don’t think he realizes I just bike to and from work and around downtown.  I’m not out there hardcore biking on a daily basis so I’m going to keep biking to work because my feet and toes never hurt with me biking.  So there!  I have to do something to help me not go stir crazy with being unable to run.

I’m actually wishing this toenail will fall off on it’s own so I don’t have to go see a doctor about it but then again, I need advice on what to do for future marathons and how to treat my feet better as a marathoner.  So please pray that I won’t go crazy from only being able to get in minimal activity for the next 2 1/2 weeks.  It’s going to be hard on me, I just know it.

I’ll obviously be keeping you all updated as I figure out what the verdict is in a couple of weeks.  But just so you know, that’s why you won’t see me doing a ton of running, biking and strength training for the next couple of weeks.  Let’s hope I don’t gain 100 pounds with no activity!

Ok, super long post so I must let you go!  I’ll try and blog in the morning.  We have a nurses appreciation reception in the morning and I’ll try to get pictures but it might be hard.

5 Responses

  1. I’m so sorry! I definitely feel for you. I went ahead and got the pedi today. She semed to think it was only bruised and polished it away. I may regaret that, since it will be harder to see waht it looks like. But, I will have pretty toes for graduation this weekend!

    And, You eat so healthy, I doubt you will gain an ounce !

  2. Ouch girl. So sorry to hear about your toe!

  3. I am sorry to hear about your feet. But no need to freak out about no exercise. I have personally be in treatment where I could not walk really anywhere but around the “lodge” where we stayed. If we left the lodge I would have to be carted and I gained weight VERY SLOWLY!! I wouldnt worry about two weeks. It took me almost 8 months to gain enough to be discharged!! 🙂

  4. I’m sorry Lauren! This can’t be fun.

    Maybe you can get one of those shake weights? Just kidding.

    However, I don’t think you should try and cheat the system by continuing to bike. That’s just my feedback, but you better just it heal right, than to risk further damage and be out again later, or for longer. But I do realize that when there’s a will, there’s a way.

    Feel better!

  5. Oooh ouch!

    I find Greek yogurt too thick … I prefer the runny stuff!! I think I am the only one 🙂

Leave a Reply

