• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

A Night of Tastes

I have a lot to catch you up on from last night.  It was 11:30 by the time we got home from our dinner with friends last night and I was too pooped to blog about it.  So here I am!  Well rested after a great 9 hours of sleep last night and already fueled up for the day from breakfast.

I made Spinach Stuffed Mushrooms for our dish last night.  I got the recipe from here.

Recipe:

Spinach Stuffed Mushrooms

//

Ingredients

2 tablespoons 365 Everyday Value Extra Virgin Olive Oil, divided
2 (8-oz) packages button or baby bella mushrooms, stems removed and finely chopped, caps left intact
1 small yellow onion, chopped
Salt and ground black pepper to taste
1 (1-pound) pkg frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed of excess water
6 ounces Feta cheese, crumbled

Method

Preheat oven to 350°F. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushroom stems, onions, salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl along with spinach, toss well; set aside to cool. Arrange mushroom caps in a single layer on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Add Feta, salt and pepper to spinach mixture then divide filling evenly between mushrooms, mounding it in the center of each. Drizzle mushrooms with remaining 1 tablespoon oil and bake until softened and juicy, about 20 minutes.

Using our new food chopper we bought the other day to chop the mushroom stems and onion.

Cooking in the skillet.

Letting everything cool with the spinach.

Add the feta and stuff mixture into the mushroom tops.

Cook, then place on serving platter.  I put some more pepper on the top for added flavor.

The hubs tasted the first one just to give his seal of approval.

I think next time I’ll add some more salt and pepper while cooking.  Maybe a little balsamic too, and top with some mozzarella cheese before cooking in the oven.

We headed on over to Mandy and Simon’s and saw this beautiful set up.

Our friends, Lindsey and Drew, also came and brought Mediterranean pizza.

Mandy made beef, chicken, carrot and coleslaw wontons.

Everything is out and ready to be dug into!

Here’s my plate of our entrees.

Served with soy sauce for the wontons.

Everything was delicious!  I definitely want to make this pizza in the future because it had all my favorite things!  Hummus, lettuce, carrots, tomatoes, feta cheese and black olives.

I was glad I didn’t eat any more than this because dessert was well worth splurging with trying all three things we all brought.

Lindsey brought apple crisp that was divine.

Mandy made a chocolate torte that was perfection.

We made the cinnamon ice cream that was in the little bowl that went perfectly with both of these desserts!

It was an absolutely amazing night with the best of friends.  It feels great to be with people where you tell stories, encourage each other and laugh until you’re crying.  We’re very blessed to have these people be a part of our lives.

After getting some much needed rest, I woke up and was ready to eat breakfast.  I had some egg whites in the refrigerator from yesterday when the hubs used egg yolks for the trial run of burnt sugar ice cream that ended up being a bust.

No sense in letting them go to waste.  Paired perfectly with two slices of whole wheat toast topped with butter and red grapes.

I have no idea what our plans are for today. I thought about going to the river for a picnic but it’s still too chilly outside for that so who knows what the day will hold.  I hope you’re having a great Sunday so far!

What’s your favorite characteristic of your mom?  How are you celebrating her on this fine day?

Happy Mother’s Day to the best momma in the world!!  I love you mom!  Thanks for raising me and doing the best job… you’re my best friend and I don’t what I’d do without in you in my life.

3 Responses

  1. I was definitely laughing so hard I was crying!!

  2. My favorite characteristic of my mom is her free spirit. She does her thing regardless of what others think of her. She’s goofy, sometimes she’s loud, sometimes she’s controversial, but she’s always genuinely herself.

  3. That chocolate torte is beautiful!!!! I love the chocolate swirls!!!

    My mom is the most patient person I know … that is just one of the many characteristics I love about her 🙂

Leave a Reply

