• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Hummus Among Us

Let me wish a very special, Happy Birthday to my two children!  They both turn 4 today and I can’t imagine our lives without them.

Ollie man.

Baby Nattie.

They’ve been celebrating by enjoying our windows being open, catching the breeze and soaking up some sunshine.

We made them some burnt sugar ice cream but there mommy wasn’t too fond of it so we tossed it and made them some cinnamon ice cream instead.

Just kidding… they won’t eat the ice cream. We’ll be celebrating for them when we hang out with out friends tonight but they don’t mind.  They’re trying to watch their figures.

Totally not kidding about the burnt sugar ice cream not being tasty.  We tried but no cigar.

The cinnamon ice cream is where it’s at.  It’s currently in process right now so you’ll see pictures later tonight.

I fell asleep on the couch for about an hour… I was pooped with not getting a lot of sleep last night and then getting up early for a run so I guess I needed it.

When I woke up I was hungry!  A hodge podge lunch.

I love me some hummus!

Can’t go wrong with some garlic and herb laughing cow cheese with crackers.  I tried my TLC Kashi original 7 grain crackers for the first time and loved them!  Way to go Kashi.  Another star in my book.

A good spread.

A mandarin too.

I’ll just say: I didn’t like the original hummus with the cucumbers at all!  I’m a red roasted pepper hummus girl for sure!  Weird, right?

Over an hour later, I was still hungry and a bowl of cold cereal sounded fantastic.  I knew some Kashi H2H Honey Toasted, sprinkled with some Special K Low Fat Granola would fix me right up.

I was right.  I feel satisfied now.

I’ll leave you with daddy showing off our babies cute selves.

Ollie boy was up first.  He loved it.

Nattie boy was too tired to get into the posing.  He was a little more laid back.

I’m enjoying this day of relaxing.  I need it.  My body feels so tired.  Maybe it’s from that bootcamp class yesterday morning.  I’m feeling pretty stiff and sore.  That means it worked me out and I can’t complain about that!  See you after dinner tonight!

What’s your favorite flavor of hummus?

3 Responses

  1. I love the title of this post :}

  2. I am a big hummus fan too. I think my fave would be roasted red bell pepper, but a good jalapeno hummus would be a close 2nd!

  3. I love all kinds of hummus …

    I really like lentil hummus. It tastes almost the same as the chickpea stuff, but I prefer it.

Leave a Reply

