• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Early Morning Run

After I blogged last night, I received a phone call from one of my closest friends in Louisville asking if I wanted to go for a run this morning.  I jumped on the idea because since we went running together two days before the marathon, I was hooked with having someone to run with.

I love that Mandy runs in the morning because it starts my day off perfectly and frees me up for the rest of the day to do whatever I want or need to do.  We pounded out 2.7 miles in just under 27 minutes.  After drinking some water and stretching (chit chatting the whole time of course) we headed to the grocery to pick up some things we needed.

After a quick grocery trip, it was back home and time to eat some breakfast.  I was hungry!

I thought about trying my hand at oatmeal again this morning but changed my mind because I didn’t want to put so much effort into it and it not be that good because I needed instant gratification.  So I made waffles instead!

Topped with half a nanner and some fresh strawberries with a drizzle of honey.

A Morningstar “sausage” pattie on the side made this meal complete!

I had thought about going on a picnic down by the river today but a cold front moved in last night and it’s a cool 50 degrees here.  Besides, there is some cleaning to do around here and I have to get ready for a fabulous dinner we are having with friends tonight over at Mandy’s house.  I’m really excited for the spread that we are going to have.  Can’t wait to take lots of fun pictures!  I’ll see you all later!

What’s your favorite waffle brand?  What are you favorite toppings?

3 Responses

  1. Love waffles! I haven’t have them in so long though… And it’s so cold here too..

  2. Nice way to start the day. I’m not a big waffle fan to be honest. But strawberries or blueberries would surely have to be the best toppers.

  3. I like coyote whole wheat waffle and pancake mix. The ingredient list is very small, and it is all things that I recognize.

Leave a Reply

