• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Trial Parenting

Good evening friends!  Can you believe it’s already the end of the day on Friday?  Why do days off go by so much more quickly than days spent at work?  Boo on that!

After lunch, I ended up laying out on our  rooftop deck for 3 hours!  You better believe I got some good color going on right now.  A little red tint but will turn into a brown tint soon.  🙂

I actually got a cat nap in the sun laying up there today.  And it looks like this buddy got a good nap in the sunshine too.

Too comfortable.

“Oh, Mom, I’m not ready for my close up right now. Can’t you see I’m trying to nap?”

We ate dinner a little earlier than usual tonight because we were asked to babysit while some of our good friends attended a wedding tonight.  Of course we said yes!  We love babies and babysitting and don’t get to do it very often.

Dinner was a superb success.  We bought some Ahi Tuna fillets at Sam’s Club last week and broke those bad puppies out tonight.

We tried them sauteed.

I had a huge salad on my plate.  The hubs didn’t think I’d be able to fit any other food on there because it was so big!

But I proved him wrong.

Ahi Tuna on a bed of brown rice.

A spoonful of broccoli and cheese.

All together now.

Loved every bite!

We headed out the door and here we are, babysitting!  In other words, trial parenting.

The babe is in bed so it’s not like we have to do everything but we are prepared if she needs anything.  I have arms that are willing to hold and rock!

I brought a sliced apple and some PB for a snack for later since we ate dinner so early.

Always have to be prepared for when hunger strikes!  Ya hear?

Wish us luck as we act as parents for a few hours.  We have a fun, laid back day and night prepared tomorrow.  I’m hoping for a day of sleeping in, picnics, biking, running, etc.  We’ll see what all we can fit in.

I think I might be trying my hand at oatmeal again in the morning.  If you remember, my previous two trials at it failed miserably so suggestions are welcome. 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I love Ahi….it is one of my favorite things to order out! We make it at home a lot too but for some reason it never tastes as good as a resturaunt. Have fun be faux parents!!

  2. I hope the oatmeal turns out for you – it is really super easy!!!

    1 cup of liquid, 1/2 cup oats … bring the liquid to a boil, add the oats, and cook 1 minute. Remove from heat, cover for a couple minutes.

    Use quick oats.

Leave a Reply

