• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

I Took the Plunge…

…into the Green Monster world!

But let’s not get too ahead of ourselves, shall we?  I wouldn’t want to spoil the review of what I thought right out of the gates!  I have to fill you in on the rest of my exciting morning at Lenny’s Sub Shop.

First of all, I did not get called into work, thank goodness!  It was looking pretty iffy there for a while but I made it.   Maggie and I waited in line for a little while longer and they finally opened the doors and in we filed.

It was a fast moving process so I didn’t get any pictures until I sat down with my sandwich.

I ordered a #15 on whole wheat topped with onion, lettuce, tomato, oregano, pepper, a tad bit of mayo, banana peppers and black olives.

A PERFECT sandwich.  It tasted just as I remember!  I only ate half and packed the other half up for dinner tonight.  I also got a bag of their baked barbecue chips and ate half of those too.  I couldn’t believe it, but I got a drink that went with my meal and I actually got a coke!  I haven’t had a coke in months and months and it was good!  Not amazing enough for me to start drinking them on a daily basis but one every once in a while won’t kill me.  🙂

Unlike Subway, the pile their sandwiches full of FRESH SLICED (right in front of your eyes) deli meat and cheese.

All of their toppings are fresh and cut in the kitchen.  Believe me, I’ve had my hands in all of it since I used to work there for a few years.

I loved my marketing job with Lenny’s because I loved their food.  Lenny’s has an extremely special place in my heart and I feel blessed to have been a part of their team.  The even cooler thing?  I still feel like I’m a part of their team.  I ran into my first manager from Lenny’s today at this grand opening and he not only remembered me, but he talked to the corporate office as well today, and they remember me.  It’s nice to know I made a nice lasting impression.

I am pretty excited about getting a free regular sub sandwich or kaiser sandwich every week for a year but I’m even more excited that we have a Lenny’s here now!  It makes me so happy!

ANYWAY!  The hubs came and met me after I ate to grab a bite to eat too and we headed off to run some errands.  It was such a nice day out and I was excited to spend some time with him on an unexpected day off and get errands run today instead of on my three day weekend.  Ya hear?

On one of my errands I picked up a special treat!  Really proud that I was able to place this on my car.

Fitting to put it on while I was wearing my marathon shirt they gave me in my swag bag!  🙂

I came inside to make a snack.  I thought today would be the perfect day to make my first ever Green Monster!  I was really nervous but excited to try it out.  I added a frozen banana, two huge handfuls of spinach, some ice, a little milk and packet of chocolate amazing grass.

All in the blender!

After several minutes of trial and error with figuring out why it wasn’t blending, the hubs figured out there wasn’t enough liquid to capture the spinach and blend properly.  So a little more milk and I was in business!!

Loved that I had the perfect amount for this glass.

You knew I was a Desperate Housewife, didn’t you?  Side note and cute story: My mom and two of her best friends (which are friends to me as well) took me on a grown up bachelorette party before I got married almost 4 years ago and my mom each had one of these wine glasses made for us with our names on the bottom.  How adorable.  It’s my favorite glass and I love that it will be perfect for my Green Monsters!!

My first sip!

Topped with a pinch of granola.

Did I like it?  You tell me.

I loved it… down to the last drop!  Classy huh?

I will forever be a believer in GM’s and will probably make them frequently.  I felt like I was eating a clean, hearty snack without having to search for carbs or peanut butter.  Not that there is anything wrong with peanut butter or carbs but I just need some veggies in my life!  And these are so dang easy to make, so I have no excuse!

I was glad I got a couple of single packets of the amazing grass to try because I didn’t know if I’d like it and didn’t want to spend a lot of money on the tub of it but believe me, this was a good investment and we will be buying a bin of it soon!  Along with some other mix ins like maca and chia seeds.  I have to take it slow because those things aren’t inexpensive and add up quick!

I’m off and running.  I think I’m going to go on a long bike ride after I eat the other half of my sandwich and chips and before I head to community group tonight.  Sounds like a plan to me.  Hopefully I’ll get some good mileage in!

See you later tonight!

Do you drink GM’s?  If so, what’s your favorite mix-ins?

5 Responses

  1. Ok, I must officially be the last person on earth to try a GM! Love your 26.2 sticker!

  2. I took the plunge into green monsters not too long ago… amazing! I am already on my second tub of Chocolate Amazing Grass!

  3. Do you get it at Whole Foods? That really does look good and without all the addtives that the Hulk powder has in it.

  4. I drink GMs and I love adding almond butter!

Leave a Reply

