• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Derby Fun

It’s only 8:30 at night and we’re already back from our Derby festivities.  Party animals, aren’t we?!  I’m a wild woman, let me tell you.  Bedtime at 10?  Doesn’t everyone go to bed that early?  🙂

I was sent home early from work, which I expected so I headed home, washed my hair, painted my toesies and fingers, and donned my swankiest black dress and heels (Thanks Kate Spade for always being there for me) and off we went.

My man and I.   What a hunk.

They had some eats of course and I got a bit of everything.

A small bowl of mild chili.

We split some dessert.

I might have gone back for a couple more bites of ice cream and chocolate cake. 🙂

Ok, I’ve discovered I have a problem.  I am all about Bethenny Frankel’s food philosophy’s or should we say food rules in her book, “Naturally Thin” but I’m thinking I need to read this book everyday to feel in control over my food choices.  Alright, here’s the nitty gritty.  This past week I have indulged in anything and everything I want.  I have not shown all the little sweets I have popped into my mouth every evening but they are there and sometimes in copious amounts.  I was doing really well on the eating in moderation thing but this week, after the marathon, I have just felt the need to overindulge and I don’t know why.  So strange.  Oh wait… now that I think about it, I know why.  It’s those dang hormones that go raging every month!  Eek!  Totally forgot about that.  Whew, I feel better now.  But still… I have really not been treating my body well at all so please forgive me for this horrible week of eats.  Tomorrow is a new day (I feel like I say this a lot) and I am vowing to myself (and you) that I will treat my body well from now on.  That doesn’t mean I won’t eat sweets ever again but I’m totally putting more crap in my body than I should.  So knowing that you all know my little secret now, I’m hoping I’ll be more accountable to myself because I know it’s out there in the open.

Ok, I feel better now just getting that off my chest.  It’s actually an early night for me so I’m going to turn in and settle down for the night.  I have to work the next 5 days so I need some rest!

Update on my feet: My toes feel better today.  Not completely 100% but much better!  I’m hoping by tomorrow night or Monday night, I’ll be running again.  Oh Lord please!  I need to run for my sanity!!

Have you had any food revelations lately?

5 Responses

  1. Hey girl, don’t beat yourself up. Like you said, tomorrow is a new day. I think we all go through bouts of less than stellar eating!

  2. Did you have one of the brownie bites with bourbon icing? Mmm…

  3. I think we all go through times like that where we are eating like crazy for a week or two … I am sure it will all balance out. You seem to eat very healthily most of the time!

  4. Don’t feel bad, we have all been there and you certainly don’t need to apologize to us 😉

    Lately, I have learned that I feel my best when I avoid most processed foods so that is a challenge I am doing for the month of May. I have no control over things like cereal and tortilla chips, so it’s better to remove them from my life totally, at least for a little while!

Leave a Reply

