• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Keeping It Simple

Sometimes breakfast just has to be simple! Amen? Amen. I knew I’d be eating a pretty heavy dinner tonight and lunch is leftovers from last night so I wanted fruit for dessert. Nothing creative. Just an orange.

Ok, change of breakfast. I got to work this morning and a friend had brought me Yoplait’s Greek yogurt to try, Strawberry flavor. I have been wanting to break into the world of Greek yogurt so I was excited to try this!

My review: I liked it. I don’t necessarily love it yet because the texture is different from regular yogurt. A little more chalky but I like the health benefits better than the regular yogurt so this will be a must on my grocery list for Friday. I wish I had some granola to toss in there today! I think that would’ve made it taste 100 times better with the added texture.

So I think I’ll eat my orange later with my snack or maybe not at all. Who knows. I have lots of options today and I like when that happens!

I couldn’t stand it anymore so I did some strength training last night after I blogged. I hit the abs, arms, shoulders and back hard. And it felt so GOOD!! I have been dying all week, as you all know, to get moving and I just needed a good workout!

I can’t wait until Friday so I can test my footsies out on the pavement again. My whole body feels 100% back to normal since the marathon but my toes! My toenails are making my toes hurt! Can I just get my toenails removed?

Do any of you other runners have toenail hurting problems too? Or is it just me because I’m weird that way?

Alright, there’s your questions for the morning. Ready, set, go!

8 Responses

  1. Hey girl – I don’t run quite the distances you or other runners do, but for those who do, I hear it’s very common to have bruised toenail beds. I think you need to keep the nails cut short. I’m sure others will have better tips – or it may just be that they’re going to hurt! When I first started getting into running – I actually wore my toe pads from my point shoes.

  2. bloggin’ some food on my blog today and thought of you!!

  3. O don’t think you are weird!! My second toenail on both feet hurt from tennis. What’s your review if the yogurt?

  4. Oh fruit can be such a refreshing, welcomed dessert! I love how juicy and sweet oranges are! And good for you on the strength training! I bet it felt great!

    I don’t have any advice about the toenail, I wish I did.

    Love the review of the yogurt, I’ve seen it around and wasn’t sure. Thanks love!

  5. Hasn’t happened to me … but then again, I don’t run more than 5 minutes at a time ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I was able to try the Greek yogurt this morning and after reading your blog I was a little hesitant about trying it so I decided to bring some fresh strawberries to put in it. It was really good with the added strawberries. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Also, I am a marathon runner too ( I ran my first in December) and I do have the same problem with my toenaiils! It never really happened until after my first marathon now it just stays bruised!!

    • I bought 4 tubs of Okios Greek yogurt at the store the other day and am going to dive into them soon. I liked the taste of the Yoplait Greek I tried but the texture is different from regular yogurt and that’s what I’ll have to get used to. But I love the health benefits of the Greek over the regular yogurt for sure.

      Do you eat the plain and then add your own mix-ins or do you buy the flavored too?

      I hate that my toes will probably be forever bruised but I discovered last night that there were blisters up under my two big toenails so being the nurse that I am, I drained them after putting a tiny hole with a sterile needle at the top of my toe and they feel 100% better! I’m actually feeling great enough to go on a run tonight! I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

