• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Loading Up

We had such a great afternoon relaxing at the loft and going to introduce my mom to people I work with.

I couldn’t wait for dinner though! Time for carbo loading. I can’t think of a better way to load up on the carbs than to eat some good ole Chicago style deep dish supreme pizza!

Old Chicago has some of the best pizza in town and it’s been ages since we’ve been there so we were due!

Started off splitting a Greek salad with mom.

I ended up eating about 1/3 and a dip of dressing.  Mom loves her dressing so she drowned her salad after I had my few bites.  She loves to live… what can I say?

Then it was time for the main event! Their Chicago Seven pizza. Deep dish style. Obvi.

It was topped with pepperoni, Italian sausage, mushrooms, black olives, bell peppers, onion and fresh mozzarella.

I had two pieces and every bite was to die for.

We headed back home to dig into some cake and ice cream!  No pictures because you saw it last night!

And then we had a surprise up our sleeve for mom’s birthday and Mother’s Day which are both right around the corner.

She has a media room at her new house and at Christmas we gave her a framed “Gone With the Wind” and “Mommie Dearest” movie posters for her to hang in her theater room.

To complete the hangings for the wall, we gave her another framed poster. This time “To Kill a Mockingbird”.She now has posters of three of her favorite movies to complete the look of her media room.

She was beyond surprised and elated.

We’re now chilling out on the couch and watching the movie, “Lovely Bones” from the Redbox.

http://northshoremovies.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/lovely_bones-poster.jpg

What a great way to end the day.

I’ve put out all my racing essentials and am ready to go.

I just need to get some good rest so I can wake up bright and early to eat a pre-race breakfast and head to the start line.

I don’t know if I’ll blog before I head to the start line so I’ll say see you later! Please pray for (a) my physical endurance, (b) my mental state, (c) the weather (they’re expecting horrible thunderstorms and chances of tornados), (d) that I’ll finish strong, (e) for no injuries, and (f) that I’ll FINISH period!

Nite folks! Time to get some sleep! Can’t believe I’m running my first marathon tomorrow. Someone pinch me, I must be dreaming.

Obviously it would be from my twitter account and will cross over to Facebook too!  So follow me on twitter if you want updates!  🙂

4 Responses

  1. Good luck on the race! Love the Garmin in your header 🙂

  2. ! I’m so inspired by you running this marathon. Woo hoo it’s finally here! Good luck tomorrow!!! You are going to rock it!

  3. Good luck on the race!!!!!!!!!!

    That looks like the most PERFECT slice of pizza!

  4. Best of luck to you. That pizza looks amazing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

