• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Pure Decadence

My guest got in today shortly after I blogged earlier! Look who it is!

Do we look alike?

That’s my momma! She’s the most fabulous woman I know and my very best friend in the world (besides my hubs, of course). I haven’t seen her since Christmas and was so pumped for her to get into town today! She’s here through the weekend and came in just to support me in the marathon. I’m so blessed to have such an amazing mother.

She even brought me some treats!

And some unpictured breast cancer pink socks!

The hubs and I took her to The Oakroom tonight for dinner and we went all out. We had so much rich food that we met our quota for the year with decadence!

They had our table set up so sweetly.

We ordered and before our first course they brought us a specialty from the chef. Hen Liver. I tried a bite and left the rest. It was okay but not good enough to keep eating.

Then it was time for some bread. They brought out three different butters for us to try with out bread. A cantaloupe flavored, spice flavored and coconut.

One piece of white and one piece that was bleu cheese and walnut. I tried each of the butters they brought out. I liked the one on the far left the best. It was actually a coconut flavored butter.

Us three split a couple of big diver scallops. Tangerine, leeks, parsnips, himalayan salt beech mushrooms, marcona almonds kentucky paddlefish caviar. So insane good!

Mom and I both ordered a champagne salad as a starter. Maine lobster tail, lolla rossa blood orange, o’banon goat cheese pistacio, champagne vinaigrette. Delish!

Chad ordered the Vidalia onion bisque. Gruyere grilled cheese, chive benton’s bacon. I tried a spoonful and it was mind-blowing!

Time for rhubarb sorbet to clear our palettes for our main course!

Main course was served! I order the Escalor. Orzo, foraged mushrooms, candies budda’s hand perigord black truffle, parsley root puree.

Mom ordered the Prime Beef Tenderloin. Roasted fingerling potatoes, brussels sprouts carrots, saffron aioli.

The hubs ordered the Chilean Sea Bass. Israeli cous cous, baby arugula, apple slaw curry butternut squash, tzatziki.

We had an absolutely perfect meal. Ended with some bourban balls with sea salt on top.

We left feeling super weighted down after the rich food but it was oh so good and worth every bite!

And they even had us grab these homemade huge chocolate chip cookies on the way out! I happily obliged!

We headed straight to community group and then back home to indulge in a little more richness. But first a picture of the mumsy and I.

Now it’s time for the best cake in the whole entire world! Our family friend has made cakes for us for upteen years and she even made my wedding cake. It’s the best white cake you’ll ever put into your mouth! Mom’s birthday is right around the corner and mine is a little over a month away so it called for celebration! It traveled all the way from Memphis for us!

We’re about to cut into it so I gotta go! I always eat mine without the icing because the icing is so rich that it soaks into the top layer of the cake just enough to be the perfect sweetness. And we ALWAYS serve it with some Breyer’s chocolate ice cream on the side. Gotta go! Cake and ice cream are calling! Happy early birthday to the moms and I!

See you tomorrow friends!!!

4 Responses

  1. Ooooh that food is very gourmet!!! Yummmm!!

    You DO look alike!!!!

  2. Girl, you got a Pat cake all the way in Louisvilke!!! Good lluck and have axgreat visit with your sweet mom!

  3. How special that your mom got to come! Love that. I couldn’t imagine not getting to see my family for that long. I love Alice Sebold. I haven’t read that one yet though.

  4. My birthday is in a couple of weeks too, yay! Good luck tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

