• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Eating When I’m Hungry

Happy Earth Day!

I can’t believe I’m just now blogging at 3 o’clock!  I’ve had a full day so far!  I woke up at 5 a.m. and drove to meet my friend, Mandy, at her house for a quick, easy, 2 mile run.  The last run before the big day on Saturday!  We had a fantastic run.  I felt amazing out on the pavement and ended up chatting it up with Mandy the whole time.  I’m usually not a talker while I run so I was surprised how much at ease I felt while running and talking.

After our run, I headed home, got a shower and climbed back in bed for a couple of hours.  I just did not get enough sleep last night so I needed to get in some more snoozing so I’d have enough energy for the rest of the day.

I woke up and got ready to head to an endodontist appointment and then it was off to pick up my race packet for the marathon!

I was so proud to be in the short line of the marathoners.  It was crazy where the half marathoners were picking up their packets!  I walked out with some sway and even bought a Bondi Band from Ryan to wear during the marathon to keep my hair and sweat off my face.

It’s pink and so me, don’t you think? (The black thing with the foot on it is my race shirt!)

I was pumped to get a sample of these sports beans!  I’ve been wanting to give them a try.

I also received a package in the mail today!  I love receiving packages!  You won’t believe how far it traveled!

Can you read what it says?

You read correctly!  Australia!

Carman’s sent me a package of their museli bars after they saw one on my blog and an apron!

Love what the apron says.

I quickly got to cleaning after I got home and settled with all my new swag because my surprise guest is coming in today!  They should be here really soon and I’m excited!  But I needed to clean up the loft first.  Lots of work but it’s done and looks great and is ready to be invaded by this special person!

After cleaning, it was 2 o’clock and I realized I still hadn’t eaten anything all day.  Oops.  Oh well.  I just want to eat when I’m hungry and it finally hit me that I needed something in my system. Maybe I wasn’t hungry until later because of all the dense desserts I ate last night.

It was a hodge podge of things today but I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Almonds, Strawberries, Mandarin and some Crackers and Hummus.

Perfecto!  I feel satisfied and knowing that I’ll be eating dinner in just a couple of hours is great because I ate just enough to get me through.  We’re taking mom to The Oakroom at the Seelbach Hotel tonight before our Community Group is to meet and I can’t wait! You shall be seeing lots of decadent pictures from tonight’s dinner, I’m sure!  See you later gators!

Do you eat three square meals and two snacks a day no matter whether you feel hungry or not?  Or do you wait to eat until you feel hungry?

7 Responses

  1. Glad you got to meet Ryan, I will tomorrow! I’m sorry we couldn’t work out a dinner group. Perhaps us Louisvillians can still try to get together sometime. Good luck on Saturday, hope we don’t get rained/stormed on!

  2. Hey girl – nice package today! I love getting goodies like that. It’s very rare that I’m not hungry and skip my snacks. LOL.

  3. I’m always anxious to see what others say in response to your questions.

    As for me… if I hadn’t eaten anything by 2 o’clock I’d probably of passed out!

  4. I can’t believe you wake up at 5 am to go running!! Girl, you are an inspiration!!!\

    I eat 3 meals a day, but I only snack when I am hungry or the snack looks REALLY darn good 😉

  5. […] asking if I wanted to go for a run this morning.  I jumped on the idea because since we went running together two days before the marathon, I was hooked with having someone to run […]

Leave a Reply

