• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Hard Choice

I have to be honest, it was an extremely hard choice for me to decide what to take to work for breakfast this morning.  I knew I was doing a sandwich for lunch so I didn’t want to be too carby all day long so I went with a granola bar and banana.

Smart choice, I think.  Some protein to balance out the fruit so my blood sugar doesn’t spike and make me even hungrier.

I try to think about balancing out my meals for the day when I’m packing up my foods for work.  Sometimes it’s hard to not be all carbs in your meals and sometimes it’s not.  Today was just different, especially since I don’t usually take a sandwich for lunch.

P.S. I still really desire to love oatmeal but I have bombed twice making it at home!  It’s just been nasty!  Why oh why?  It could be such another great filling breakfast!  Help?!

And can I just say, the chocolate chips that sort of melted as I mixed the granola bars all up, have made these granola bars so fantastic!  It’s like a chocolate peanut butter treat but in healthy form.  I love them!!

I’m repeating myself!  Help?!  I need tips on how to make great oatmeal!

6 Responses

  1. How do you usually make yours? I eat oatmeal several times a week now but the first couple times i tried it, I didn’t like it.

    Stove top is the best. I usually use half almond milk, half water in mine. Ingredients/toppings are endless but my favorites are: bananas & PB, pumpkin & raisins (or chocolate chips), blueberries & almond butter.

    I usually stir in a tbsp of flax or wheat germ in mine too which helps soak up some of the liquid and boosts the nutritional content.

    Let me know if I can help! 🙂

  2. I had oatmeal this morning. I just did half a cup of old fashioned oats with one cup of water and half a cup of frozen blueberries and a pinch of salt. Microwaved that for two minutes and added about a teaspoon of brown sugar and then some cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. It tasted like a blueberry muffin!

  3. Hey girl – I do an overnight steel cut oats recipe. I prepare it the day before (I actually triple the recipe for 3 days worth).

    1/4 cup steel cut oats, 3/4 cup water, pinch salt, cinnamon (actually I go heavy on cinnamon), stevia (or other sweetener of your choice). Cook all ingredients until most of the water is gone, still just a tad loose). Store in plastic container. The next day, add a splash of vanilla soy milk. Nuke for 40-45 seconds, stir, nuke another 40-45 seconds. Add in blueberries or whatever you like. I typically add in protein powder, more cinnamon, and blueberries. I do sometimes add additional water and nuke longer

  4. I just do the instand oatmeal with protein added. Just don’t cook it too long in the microwave. WEight Watchers has a good one. I alwasy add fruit. Not as hearty as real oatmeal, but still a good choice over many cereals!

    Good luck on your marathon! I am gong out of town and may not have good internet!

    Donna.

  5. Fool Proof Oatmeal:

    – Put 1 cup of liquid into a pot (milk, water, almond breeze, coffee, or any combination)
    – Bring to a boil
    – Add 1/2 a cup of QUICK OATS and let it cook for 1 minute (watch closely, and give it a stir).
    – Remove from the heat, put a lid on, and let it sit for a couple minutes until desired consistency.

    Put LOADS of toppings on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

