• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Green, Green, Green

I love all the things you guys are doing in order to honor Earth Week. Those are great things I could incorporate into my everyday life!

It’s a green lunch sort of day! Lots of veggies for this little one in Louisville! Since I ate a freaking Dairy Queen blizzard for DINNER last night, I decided to eat clean and light today.

A spring mix salad has done the trick!

Topped with some shredded cheese, carrots, cucumbers, onion and Italian dressing

With three of these amazing whole grain crackers and some red pepper hummus on the side.

I’m off to dinner after work tonight with some folks from church at our new church building for a meeting about the vision for the future of our church. I said church a lot in that one sentence, didn’t I? πŸ™‚ It might be a later post tonight since we’re doing dinner and a meeting so keep checking in. I have no idea what they are serving but I’m keeping my fingers crossed there will be healthy/semi-healthy options for me to dig into.

Hope your Tuesday is treating you well so far! Hooray! We’re half-way through the work day. See you tonight!

11 Responses

  1. Love a huge salad for lunch. YUM. Hope you’re having a great day!

  2. YUM!!! I even do a green drink every morning…check it:

    1/2 Banana
    1 spoonful of Barleans Greens
    1 teaspoon honey
    1 tablespoon Almond Butter (I like the one from Trader Joes with Flax seeds)
    1 teaspoon of Udo oil (Omega 3-6-9)
    1 Tablespoon of Vanilla Soy protein
    1/2 teaspoon coconut oil
    1 cup Almond Milk
    Ice

    Blend and YUM!

  3. I enjoy big salads too! I’d love to hear more about your church some time. Good luck on Saturday, I hope we don’t get rained on πŸ˜‰

    • We attend Sojourn Community Church in the Germantown part of Louisville and are so very blessed to be members there. They now have a new East Campus that meets off of Westport Road. Let me know if you want to meet up for a service! My husband is leading worship at the Germantown campus (930 Mary St.) this next Sunday for the morning services (9 a.m. and 11:15 a.m.).

  4. Ok, so right after dinner, I saw your post last night about your blizzard, and without even thinking, I turn to my husband and say, “Alan, we have to go to Dairy Queen RIGHT now!”
    He asks me why…
    “Because I have to have a Reeses Cup Blizzard right now, or I might die.”
    And he said, “Okay, let’s go.”

    I’m not sure why seeing the picture of one made me feel like my world was going to end without it. I was actually very full after eating dinner, but managed to completely finish my blizzard (which was a first!). Thanks a lot for your subliminal message! But good news, Blizzards were buy one get the second one for a quarter, so Alan sure didn’t complain! Haha!

    Oh, and question:
    Does eating raw onions on your salad for lunch not leave you with onion burps for the rest of the day?

    Sorry for such a long comment! Have a nice day πŸ™‚

    • HAHAHAHA! This made me totally smile. The whole reason we even went to DQ was because the BOGO 25 cents week! Love it!! Tell Alan to blame it on me… or thank me… whichever he chooses. πŸ™‚

  5. Your salad looks wonderful!! And I LOVE that you had a DQ blizzard for dinner yesterday!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

