• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Hungry Woman

Can I just say how hungry I stay these days? This marathon training keeps me ravenous. I couldn’t wait to leave work so I could eat dinner but I knew I needed to get a run in so I used my hunger as motivation.

But first, about the day. I ate a nice salad topped with flank steak for lunch with a mandarin on the side.

I actually felt satisfied for a couple hours after lunch but by 4, I was ready for a mid-afternoon snack. Today was a pear and 3/4 tbsp. peanut butter sort of day.

It didn’t last me as long as I would’ve liked because by 6, I was practically wanting to gnaw my arm off.

I pedaled as fast as my little legs would pedal on the way home tonight. I wanted to hit the door, throw on my running shoes and run so I could eat!  Three miles later, I was back home and ready to eat!

We are definitely running super low on groceries since our last big grocery trip was almost 6 weeks ago so we are keeping it simple with sandwiches tonight. I plan to run by the store tomorrow to pick up a few things to get us through the rest of the week.

I decided a simple grilled cheese sounded yummy.

When I eat a sandwich, I usually need chips or something crunchy to eat with it so the hubs and I split a bag of Jimmy John’s BBQ chips.

I love their chips. You get a lot in the bad and the bag is only 150 calories! I’m all about it!!

We had some visitors from Memphis pop in tonight and we loved it!  Lindsey and Lucy came for a visit and we were able to catch up and meet sweet little Lucy for the first time.  I loved her immediately because she loves kitty cats!!  Smart girl she is!  Look at these sweet pictures of her and Nattie!

Adorable!  Thanks Lindsey and Lucy for coming to see us!

I hope you’ve all had a great Tuesday! I’m off to shower and wind down for bed. It’s up early to do it all again in the morning. 😉

What are your favorite flavor and brand of chips?

Or better yet, what’s your favorite side item to eat with sandwiches?

4 Responses

  1. My favourite kind of chips is probably Mrs. Vickie’s Salt and Vinegar, or some kettle cooked Mesquite BBQ.

    My favourite thing to have with a sandwich is soup!!

  2. Sometimes fruit makes me feel hungrier – or apples at least. Even pared with peanut butter or string cheese. I am a chip fanatic so I keep them out of the house. I think that Baked Cheetos are my absolute favorite chips. I could eat an entire bag and I don’t mean an individual size either.

  3. I love chips but I’m trying to eat them less often because I tend to go overboard! I like them really crunchy but I’m more of a plain girl. I like the Jimmy John’s skinny chips a lot 🙂

    When I don’t do chips, I like to eat pickles, carrots or a piece of fruit like an apple with my sandwich, so I at least still get the crunchiness.

  4. I love the gluten-free rice crisps by Lundberg. The wasabi flavor is AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

