• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Over Half-Way There

We’re half-way to our destination and I can’t wait to be there. We met up with Chad’s parents in Birmingham to drop our car off and hop in with them. Lunch was a quick stop on the way at Zaxby’s. I honestly had the hardest time figuring out what the best and healthiest option was to order. They had three different salads but they all had fried chicken or fried whatever on the salad so I ordered small. I went the kids menu route. I love ordering off a kids menu because it helps keep me accountable with portion size.

This kids meal had two chicken strips tossed in mild buffalo sauce with a few fries.

It even came with Scooby snacks. The hubs ate the snacks. I tried one stick.

When we dropped our car off at Chad’s MeeMaw’s house in Birmingham, she promptly threw candy in our hands. She loves giving us candy. Probably because she knows how much we love it. She gave us a pack of these. Our favorite.

The hubs ate one and said they were a little dry so I didn’t have any. I had a mini Hershey’s bar and York peppermint instead.

I’m actually completely satisfied after my small lunch and sweet treats. And now it’s time to get more excited about seeing more of our family in a few hours. Can anyone guess where we’re headed!? I’ll give you a hint… it’s farther down south and the states sports colors are primarily purple and yellow. I’ll reveal where we’re headed later tonight after we arrive. I still have a whole slew of snacks left so I’m good to go for the rest of our drive. I love planning ahead!

Do you have any traditions while traveling like playing car games, eating a favorite “once in a while” treat as a splurge, etc.?

3 Responses

  1. I’ve never been to Zaxby’s but I knew it was mostly fried stuff!

    While traveling, I do tend to enjoy some candy or another occasional thing I don’t usually have like diet soda. My most recent trip was to North Carolina and I was able to enjoy a few treats but stay pretty healthy overall 😉

    Have a fun trip!

  2. Jason and I always get a bag of Sun Chips for a long road trip. It’s pretty much the only time I buy chips like that just to munch on. But it’s a must for a road trip!

  3. On vacation I eat what I want – in moderation.

Leave a Reply

