• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Disaster Strikes

I feel like a whole new woman after getting 9 hours of sleep last night. They called me from work at 5:30 this morning and put me on call. I fell back asleep and woke up at 7:30, only to get a call from working calling me in to work at 7:55. So I found myself running around in the hospital before I knew it.

I ate a later breakfast because of the kink thrown in my schedule with being put on call but at least I got one. Another half of a toasted whole wheat bagel topped with unpictured cream cheese.

Lunch didn’t come too long after that. Some whole wheat angel hair pasta with marinara and ground turkey.

A mandarin on the side.

I couldn’t wait to eat my afternoon snack because I was hungry! Thank goodness I ate my pear when I did because I ended up having to go back to the operating room with a patient right after I ate it.

It was a rush home because our pipe above our bed is dripping water and a maintenance guy is coming to look at it. We need it fixed ASAP because we leave town tomorrow for our surprise trip. And the fact that I was also starving doesn’t help matters.

Thank goodness the guy figured it out right away and it turns out the pipes weren’t even leaking!  It was just condensation since it’s been so warm outside and we hadn’t turned on our air conditioning yet.  That works for me!  I love living in a loft with exposed duct work and pipes so I was glad it didn’t turn into anything serious because I love loft living too much!

I ate a super simple salad again like last night.  No whole wheat tortilla chips or laughing cow tonight though.

My salad ended up only being half of this bowl since the hubs and I were splitting it so I treated myself to some ice cream too!

I’ve got to get to packing!  Not only am I needing to pack all my clothes but some healthy snacks too!  It’s a 13 hour car ride just one way to our destination!  So I need healthy options to snack a lack on!  I have several granola bars from the 10 mile race last Saturday to try out!  Can’t wait!  Hope you all had a great Thursday!  I’ll try to blog on the road from my iPhone so be checking back!

What healthy snacks do you pack for yourself when you travel?

7 Responses

  1. Almonds and my Z bars.
    Cant wait to hear about your trip.

  2. Oh yikes. 13 hours??? I think I’d be flying LOL. I have a glass just like that with a red bottom though. I must have missed where you guys are going. Need to go back and re-read….

  3. I totally missed the granola bars at the race! It was so crowded when we were trying to make our way through that area, I guess I overlooked them 😉

Leave a Reply

