• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Buy One, Get One

What a day it has been. I am worn out! I think I could’ve gone to sleep at 7:30 tonight and stayed asleep until tomorrow. These 11 o’clock bedtimes have got to end!! Anyway… Onto the day.

I ate clean all day until dinner. Breakfast was a nanner. No PB this time.

Lunch rolled around and I knew the weather was supposed to be gorgeous today so I headed downstairs to our cafeteria to eat on the patio and it was an epic fail. The building blocked the sun so it ended up feeling chilly and windy. Then I realized I forgot my water so I just packed it right back up and headed to our nursing lounge instead. Oh well. At least I tried.

I topped my salad with baby carrots, olives, onions, fresh grated Parmesan cheese with a drizzle of Italian dressing.

I had a mandarin on the side as well.

Around 5, I had another mandarin for a really light snack.

I flew out of work again tonight and hopped on the bike and biked my light heart out to meet some girlfriends for dinner.  It was buy one, get one free burger night at The Monkey Wrench.  Can’t beat that.  It was nice because we sat up on the second level patio and enjoyed the great weather!

We ordered at 7:30 and the waitress came back over 30 minutes later to tell us they were out of the bison burgers some of us had ordered so it took another 30 minutes to get our food out to us.  We didn’t eat until after 8:30! I was so disappointed with the service and promptness of everything.  So disappointed that I don’t think I’ll ever go back to eat there again.  No matter how many free burgers they have.

I had ordered the turkey burger with shoestring fries on the side.

I immediately cut it in half and put one half of the burger and one half of the fries in my to go container.

So lunch is packed up and ready to go for tomorrow.

I biked home and it was TOUGH!  The wind has really kicked up around here because a storm is supposed to be rolling in tonight.  So I finally made it home and now it’s time to get snacks and breakfast packed up for tomorrow.  I need to get into bed ASAP!!  See you all tomorrow!

As good as food can be at a restaurant… if you had bad service, would you still go back and eat there?

5 Responses

  1. Sorry you had such a bad experience. I probably wouldn’t go back on a night when they were having a special, for sure.

    I am so inspired by you, what a great day of eats. I love that you put half of your dinner away for another time, that is hard for me to do 🙂

  2. Don’t you just hate it when you want to eat out and it ends up cold/chilly b/c you’re in the shade. Sorry your dinner plans didn’t pan out quite so well. Did you talk to a manager? I would definitely send them an email at the very least. I have done this after receiving terrible service or terrible food and received free gift certificates. They need to know about problems so they can be corrected. With that being said, I often try to figure out why the service was so terrible and give them another shot if I think it’s worth it. If it’s bad again, forget it. I used to wait tables so I know that sometimes there are things that start going downhill that you can’t control (other really bad tables, probs in the kitchen, etc.).

  3. Kudos to you for bike riding to dinner and back home….there’s one way to burn off dinner calories! 🙂

    -emily

  4. I think I would go try a resturaunt again if the food was good but the service was bad. Maybe they were having an off night or were short-staffed. I would at least try again before writing it off!

  5. I usually give a restaurant 2 chances … if I have bad service both times, then I won’t go back.

Leave a Reply

