• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

An Unexpected Treat

Good evening friends!  I’m going to try and make this a super quick post because I didn’t make it to bed until midnight last night and I’ve got to get some extra rest tonight to get my body back on track!

Lunch was DELICIOUS!  I had my leftovers from our trip to Blue Dog Bakery & Cafe after my 10 mile race on Saturday.

Half of my spicy tuna sandwich topped with sliced hard boiled egg and arugula.

A few chips and a little bit of wheatberry salad on the side.

I’m officially obsessed with this restaurant now.  I must make it a regular occurrence and be sure and try new things on the menu.

I debated on whether I wanted to eat a snack this afternoon but I felt like my body was telling me I needed one.

So I dug into a banana with 3/4 tbsp. of peanut butter.  You know I had to get my peanut butter intake for the day!

The hubs called me to tell me that I was invited over to a cookout where he had helped friends put in a garden bed and privacy fence all day so I jetted out of work on my bike and booked it!  I was hungry and a good time with friends plus great outdoor hanging out weather was a perfectly great unexpected treat.

They had a huge spread!  I got a little bit of brisket, grilled chicken, fruit, potatoes, carrots, asparagus and tomatoes.

Then the option of dessert was presented and I couldn’t resist.

A slice of red velvet cake with a tad bit of vanilla bean ice cream on the side.  Oh so good.

Can you tell I’m catching up on missing out on desserts/sweets from Lent?  I have got to get control of it but I missed them so much!!

We had a super great time of hanging out on the back porch talking and getting to know one another better.  I loved every second of it.  Thanks Sarah and Mike!!  Y’all are awesome!

Ok!  I’m off to settle in for bed… well, after I make my lunch for tomorrow that is.  🙂

Another great night of eating out for me tomorrow night.  You’ll have to check back tomorrow night to see what the goods are!

What’s your new favorite food or restaurant find?

Mine is, obviously, Blue Dog Bakery & Cafe.

9 Responses

  1. Where do you find the individual containers of peanut butter??/

  2. Just love peanut butter and bananas yum. I think the best food I’ve discovered lately was kabocha squash.

  3. Such a delicious day! I love your sandwich and your dinner with friends, it sounds like such a blast to eat outside with lovely company! Brisket is one of my favorite meats!

    And I used to work in a hospital with the little Smucker’s PB cups!! Ha, I loved them!

    Happy Tuesday, dear!

  4. Hey there! I saw you post over on Ryan’s blog, I live in Louisville too! I’m running the mini marathon on the 24th 🙂 It’s so much fun to find other bloggers in the area, hope to chat soon.

  5. My new favorite food find is definitely the Quorn naked chicken cutlets…so good!! 🙂

  6. Thanks Lauren. If you ever see them in a store, let me know. I bough a Kombucha tea yesteday at Whole foods. I’lllet you know when I try it.

  7. Pinkberry!!!!! Too bad there isn’t one in my city 😦

Leave a Reply

