• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Happy Easter!

Happy Easter friends!  Hope you all have had a fantastic day.  I had to work today in order to be off one of this upcoming weekend days so I can go on a little road trip.  Details to come soon about the road trip but there is a surprise in store so I gotta keep it a little quiet for now.  🙂

Work wasn’t so bad.  It was actually nice and pretty laid back for most of the day which is what normal Sunday’s usually look like for us in Labor and Delivery.

They had a potluck at work today and I had no clue about it!  Oops!  No one called to tell me so I didn’t bring anything but it’s not my normal weekend so I got lost in the mix.

Before we get to the yumminess of the potluck, I had breakfast and couldn’t wait!  I tried out the Kashi Autumn Harvest cereal I bought on sale at the store yesterday and liked it better than the normal Cinnamon Harvest I buy.

I topped it with slices of banana.  A perfectly filling breakfast.

Lunch time was before I knew it and I dug right in.  I filled my plate up with two kinds of barbecue (chicken and pork), baked beans, coleslaw, macaroni salad and fruit salad.

I chowed down and ended up getting a couple more spoonfuls of barbecue, macaroni salad and beans.

Within 5 minutes, I realized I ate too much, too fast. I  haven’t felt that full in a long time.  It wasn’t a satisfied full feeling it was an overly stuffed, bloated, pooched stomach feeling. Whoa.  I’m usually pretty good about pacing myself and not letting my hunger greediness get the best of me but not this time!

I can’t beat myself up over it though because (a) I ran over 10 miles yesterday and walked over 3 miles (b) somedays we slip up and over indulge (c) there is always tomorrow (d) it’s no fun to get caught in the guilty trap.

I ended up not snacking at all the rest of the day because of my fullness and I knew I’d be eating a pretty dense meal for dinner tonight.

I hated that I wasn’t able to attend church today but we had a dinner planned with friends after work from church so we took over a roast. I love eating roast, especially my mom’s roast. I can cook a roast exactly, step by step, how my mom does, but it never turns out as tender or mouth-watering as hers!  How does she do it?  She’s an amazing woman, I tell ya!  It’s probably all the love she puts in it.  🙂

Oh, and I got a phone call from my dad today, surprsingly.  Considering it’s been almost 6 weeks since he had any sort of contact with me, I guess he thought it was due because it’s Easter.  Maybe he’s not cutting off contact with me for good after all.  I’m just going to keep praying and putting this not so great situation in the Lord’s hands and let Him guide me because Lord knows that I have no strength or power within myself to change the situation.  I just want to love my dad with Christ’s love the best I can and if he wants to have contact with me then great, I’m all for it. He’s my dad and nothing changes that.  I might not agree with all of his choices he’s made in his life, especially in regards to my family and my mom but I just know that the best I can do is pray and love him through it to point him towards Christ and His love for us.  So there’s an update on that little tidbit of this personal life of mine.  Please continue to pray for me and my family as the rollercoaster of emotions continues.

Alright, onto our dinner!!

Our roast was cooked with red potatoes, carrots and onion.  We mix a can of cream of mushroom with a packet of Lipton dry onion soup mix and a soup can full of water and pour over the roast to marinate.  We cook it at 300 degrees for an hour a pound so it’s nice and tender and juicy.  This roast was a little over 3 pounds so we cooked it for a little over 3 hours.  (I LOVE the way it makes my house smell.  Reminds me of my childhood.)

The Lewis’ always have amazing bread whenever we get together so I don’t mind digging in at all.

Dessert was a chocolate trifle!  It was divine!  Lindsey is so cute and creative and I ate this up: figuratively and literally.  I’m totally doing this for a get together one day!

Lindsey and I got to talking about food and it was all she wrote.  We could’ve talked about food and grocery shopping all night!  I love having friends that I can get excited with about things like food.  A lot of people think I’m crazy that I love food and talking about it so much.  It’s nice to be in good company.  🙂

Now we’re back home with a belly full of comfort food and ready for bed.  I have a feeling I’m going to sleep well tonight!  I’m blessed the Savior died for me and rose on this day to reign in heaven.  I couldn’t ask for more in my life so I am content.  I pray all of you had a great Easter!

Do you have any Easter traditions?  Do you celebrate Easter? What did you do this Easter Sunday?

4 Responses

  1. […] Happy Easter ! a Fit Foodie By qneexeng I tried out the Kashi Autumn Harvest cereal I bought on sale at the store yesterday and liked it better than the normal Cinnamon Harvest I buy . I topped it with slices of banana. A perfectly filling breakfast. … I just want to love my dad with Christ’s love the best I can and if he wants to have contact with me then great, I’m all for it. He’s my dad and nothing changes that. I might not agree with all of his choices he’s made in his life, especially in regards to my …Read More… […]

  2. Looks like you guys had a great Easter! The pot roast looks yummy. I remember when you cooked this for Matt and I one time–it was great! Have a great week!

  3. I love Kashi Autumn Harvest cereal. YUM. They had a vanilla flavor out last summer that was soooo good too. I haven’t seen it in a while though. Good job not beating yourself up of the food by the way. I know it’s soooo much easier said than done. Take care girl. Can’t wait to hear about this trip.

  4. Ij ust bought the kashi island vanilla yeseterday at Whole Foods in Memphis.

    And, my pot roast is hard to tell when its going to be tender and when it isn’t. I’ve decided it’s the type of roast that I buy, and I can never remember the cut when it does turn out tender and juicy.

Leave a Reply

