• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Catching Up on Calories

Look at what was sleeping on me all day?!  How lucky am I?

Those cute things have been sleeping ALL DAY!!  Lazy boys!

The rest of my day was spent vegging and doing nothing!  It was great!  Around 3 o’clock, I was starting to feel quite hungry so I snacked on some trail mix of mine.

Dry Roasted Almonds, Craisins and Dark Chocolate Covered Plums.

It held me over pretty well until after we went to church and came home to cook dinner.

The hubs and I hopped to it with fixing dinner because we were both starving!  I think my body is so ravenous since I ran 21 miles yesterday so I’m trying to catch up on the calories.

On the menu for tonight: Flank steak, Asian inspired sautéed green beans with mushrooms, onion and bell pepper, Annie’s mac and cheese and baked beans.

The hubs had a Sister Schubert’s roll with his dinner but I decided to skip out since there were a tons of carbs on my plate already.

I packed up half the flank steak, sautéed veggies and rest of the baked beans and mac and cheese for lunch tomorrow.

This was our first time to try out Annie’s mac and cheese.  Usually I’m a Velvetta shells and cheese girl but even their small boxes are so big for the two of us and the serving sizes I scoop for myself ends up being huge!  So I decided to try this!

My review:

I really, really enjoyed it!  The shells, themselves, are smaller than Velvetta and the cheese mixture stayed creamy the whole time.  With Velvetta, they usually clump up and dry out pretty quickly but these were perfect.

A mandarin for an after dinner snack because I just felt like I needed something else.  Maybe I should have eaten a roll after all.  🙂

I’m now settled onto the couch and plan on being in bed and ready for sleep by 10 p.m.  I don’t think that’ll be hard tonight since my breakfast, lunch and snack are already packed up and ready to go for work tomorrow and I’ve showered and caught up on everything.  Here’s to hoping our next door neighbors won’t be partiers tonight and I can sleep all night!

See you tomorrow!!

What’s your favorite trail mix combo?

3 Responses

  1. I actually don’t often eat trail mix. That one looks pretty good.

  2. Anything with chocolate and coconut in it!!!!!!!

    That mac and cheese looks so good … it is just begging to be eaten 🙂

  3. Mmm awesome meals! I love the kitties in bed too!
    My fave combo is probably dark choc chips, raisins, and almonds. Simple and delicious!

Leave a Reply

