• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Sprint It Out

I hit the arms, shoulders and abs hard last night after I blogged.  It felt awesome.  I do love me some strength training!  I’m hoping to get some good leg and ab strength training in tomorrow night.  But what I was most excited about that I was in bed at 9:30 and asleep at 10!!

I had a meeting this morning so I ended up not having to wake up until 6 so I truly ended up getting 8 hours of sleep.  Loved that feeling!  Here’s to hoping I’ll repeat it again tonight.

I was only going to work on the floor from 11 a.m.-7 p.m. but since my meeting got out earlier than 11, and I didn’t want to go home for an hour or two, I clocked in early and hit the floor running. We were packed to the max today so I’m thankful we at least had enough organization for me to be able to eat my meals!

First up: Another Granny Smith for breakfast.  It definitely wasn’t filling enough.  I wish I would’ve eaten it as a snack later instead.

Lunch couldn’t have come soon enough, obviously, since the lone apple wasn’t filling at all.  The rest of my tuna noodle casserole.  Oh so tasty.  No crescent roll this time!

An orange on the side.

One of my co-workers and I were talking yesterday since she’s doing the whole Weight Watchers thing and she was talking about all her points and what she eats for snacks and stuff like that.  I used to be obsessed with counting calories just last year and the year before that and last May, I completely stopped counting and I hope I never start again.  But kudos to people that don’t let a calorie count control them (or a points count) because it seriously almost ruined me.   That’s probably a story for a later blog.  We’ll see.  ANYWAY… she was talking about buying the Laughing Cow swiss cheese wedges and I told her I’d never tried it before and I’ve been meaning to buy some.  Guess who brought me a Laughing Cow wedge today?  Yes, she thought about me.  How sweet is that?

I couldn’t wait to have it as my afternoon snack!

With crackers.

The verdict?

I LOVED this cheese.  Laughing Cow, if you’re reading this, I will sample and review your products anytime.  Usually I’ve been a cheddar cheese only girl when it comes to eating straight cheese but I’m branching out so I’ll sample away!  😉

It held me over until dinner and I was super glad.  I went on my run tonight and ended up pushing it really hard.  I always feel like I need to push harder on my shorter run days and I don’t know why.  I’ll tell you this, there is nothing like pounding the pavement hard after a long day at work.  It takes all the stress, frustration, etc. out of the  day.  But I sprinted the last mile and ended up running my last mile in 7:03 minutes.  Whoop!!  I finished my whole 3 miles in 26:16 minutes.  Getting faster!

I came inside and was ready for some dinner.  I kept it light with a salad topped with shredded carrots, feta cheese, chopped onion and bell pepper and topped with a tad bit of Italian dressing.

I might have had 4 or 5 chips dunked in our homemade salsa.  🙂  The hubs had it sitting out and I couldn’t resist.

A few red grapes to calm down my tongue that felt like it was on fire after eating that hot salsa!!!

Alright bloggies and friends, I’m off to shower and climb in bed!!  Work day tomorrow and a pizza night tomorrow night!  Can’t wait to see how this wheat crust turns out that we bought a few weeks ago!!  I hope you all had a fantastic Tuesday!

What do you like to do to de-stress after a long day?

7 Responses

  1. Try having some peanut butter, almonds, or string cheese with the apple. The protein will help make you feel full. However, I have found that apples almost always rev up my appetite. Yay for pizza night tomorrow! Honestly, after a super stressful day, I enjoy sitting with the hubs and a glass of wine.

  2. I absolutly LOVE laughing cow cheese. Ive never tried the flavored ones though. I just get the regular swiss, I eat it with ritzs. I haven’t had it in a while though. Glad you enjoyed it!

  3. After a long day I read or watch TV to de-stress 🙂

  4. I just bought laughing cow cheese wedges yesterday! My friend introduce me last week to them. I eat them with pretzels. So delish. An with apples i always eat peanut butter. with PB I can hardly finish the whole thing!
    And nothing better than a run or workout after a long day. My fav destresser.

    Btw, can’t wait to see you soon!!

  5. Ooh, I’m going to look for those Laughing Cow wedges.

  6. Ever try frozen grapes?! They’re awesome! I don’t know why, but the sweetness is really enhanced as it thaws in your mouth! It makes a nice icy treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

