• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Hodge Podge

Another manic Monday around Louisville.  It’s always so hard for me to get back in the swing of things of getting up at 5:30 a.m. after having the weekend off.  Especially when I stay up past 11 p.m. the night before.  Eek!  That’s what I get for taking a nap yesterday.  I’ve got to get back on track with being in bed and ready for sleep at 10 p.m.  Tonight is the night… I feel it.

The temperatures have dropped again and we’re dealing with 40 degree weather.  When is going to stay warm!?  Errr… so I started my chilly morning with a Granny Smith apple for breakfast.  I love Granny Smith’s but sometimes they can be too tart.  This one was just right.

Lunch couldn’t have been more welcomed.  I couldn’t wait to eat some Tuna Noodle Casserole from last night’s dinner!!  So good!  With a awesome crescent roll on the side of course.

I have just enough leftover for tomorrow too.  Sorry in advance that you’ll be getting a repeat.  No crescent roll for tomorrow, unfortunately.  😦

Around 4, I decided it was time for a little snacky poo.  A homemade peanut butter granola bar.  Of course, it crumbled so I put it in a cup and added 1/2 tbsp. of peanut butter.  Delish!

I figured since the hubs is still feeling under the weather today that I’d go by and pick him up some Kung-Po chicken and hot and sour soup from a Chinese restaurant right down the street.  He was much appreciative.  Anything for my sick patient.  I decided to skip out and was planning on just eating at home.

Here’s the hubs Kung-Po.  I had one bite.  Really tasty.

He gave me a couple bites leftover from the soup.  I definitely did not eat after him.  He poured his own into a separate bowl.  I’ve got to stay well for my 21 miler this weekend!

So this is when my dinner became a hodge podge.  After my 3 bites of soup, I decided to polish off the tiny bit of hummus I had left in the fridge with a few stoneground wheat crackers.

And then some grapes and a mandarin too, of course.

I’m actually completely satisfied.  I know I had a pretty heavy lunch with the casserole so I feel like I kept it pretty light for dinner.  I’m hoping for a good salad for dinner tomorrow night since I’m polishing off the rest of the tuna noodle casserole for lunch.  I don’t want to be too carby in one day.

Homemade pizza is on the menu for sometime this week and I’m excited!  Maybe Wednesday night.  We shall see!

I think our temps. are supposed to hit the 60’s again tomorrow so I’m planning on running tomorrow night.  For now, I’m off to do some arm, shoulder and ab exercises!  Hope you all had a great Monday!

What’s been your latest hodge podge meal?

4 Responses

  1. I absolutely love Granny Smiths YUM. They’re really about the only apple I’ll eat.

  2. The days leading up to me going grocery shopping always end up consisting of random, produce-free meals!

  3. I’ve been doing a ton of veggie/hummus wraps lately. Whole foods has a delish green chile hummus that I am currently obsessed with. The problems is that I snack on the veggies and hummus while I’m making the wrap and never get to the actual wrap eating!

  4. I want that soup!! I love soup so much, and that one looks really good!!!!! I love hodge podge meals and snacks!!

Leave a Reply

