• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

No Lunch Day

Before I get to why I titled this post “No Lunch Day” I’ll tell you about my morning.  My morning started off by me crawling out of bed.  My body was so not ready to get up at 5:30 a.m.!  This time change has messed me up!!  But I got going shortly after being awake and headed into work.  I was hungry as soon as I woke up but I ended up holding off eating breakfast until 9 a.m.  I think I’m going to try and start waking up around 5 a.m. on the days I work and making a green monster and spending time with the hubs and starting my day off right.  We’ll see if that ever happens.  😉

I had my favorite new combo of cereal: Kashi H2H Honey Toasted and Special K Granola.  A match made in heaven.

Before I knew it things were kicked into high gear on our floor and with my patients so I didn’t stop to eat lunch until 1 p.m.  Thank goodness our manager had ordered us lunch, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to eat at all.  Since we were unable to actually take an official lunch “break”, we called it a ‘No Lunch Day’, hence the reason for the title.

I didn’t get any pictures of lunch because we were that busy and I thought cramming food down my throat was a little more important at the moment.  Eat while you can when you’re a nurse.

Our manager ordered us Jimmy John’s platters.  I had 3 small pieces of subs.  One veggie, one tuna and one ham.  I still can’t decide which one I liked best.  I think they’d be ten times tastier if they had whole wheat sub bread available for the platters.

After an hour, I was still hungry so I had another small piece of the ham.

No snack for me today because those 4 small pieces held me over until I got home.

I got home and decided that sent I didn’t get home until almost 8 that I would need to do some strength training tonight instead of running.  I shall run tomorrow night, for sure.

I did a number of different style push-ups (standard, military, diamond, decline and wide legged), pull-ups (wide grip, close grip over handed and close grip under handed), a variety of other back exercises with weights and ab exercises.  I worked it hard and feel great!!  After that hard workout, I deserved dinner!!

On the menu: Grilled chicken, asparagus and a sweet potato.

I tell no lie: This is only the second time in my life that I’ve had a sweet potato. I think I’d prefer a regular potato in the end but I think it’s a good change and healthier too.  Maybe we’ll try sweet potato fries next!!

I ate half of the chicken and asparagus and my whole sweet potato (since it was a smaller tater) and packed all that up, plus half of another sweet potato for a future lunch at work this week!  I love leftovers!!

That’s about it on my end.  I’m needing to wind down for bed and get rested to hit the craziness of the baby factory again tomorrow!!    I might see some fruit in my future before I hit the hay.  But what’s new?!  Hope you all had a great day back into the week!

What is some food that you have tried lately that is new to you?  And did you like it?

7 Responses

  1. You haven’t had sweet potato fries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh my girl!!!! You need to get on that!!!!

  2. Lauren, this is SO funny. I made the EXACT same dinner toinght…barbeque grilled chicken, sweet potato, and asparagus. It’s a great dinner with all healthy stuff!! 🙂 I repeat this one a lot.

  3. I’ve recently tried almond butter (don’t ask me why I haven’t tried it sooner!!) & am in love.

    Looks like a delish din 🙂

  4. I absolutely love sweet potatoes. I like adding cumin and chili powder to mine though. So they aren’t sweet. I tried kabocha squash for the first time a few months ago and love it. I eat it on salads with black beans several times a week now!

  5. how do you (or chad) fix your asparagus? I like it, but have never fixed any.

Leave a Reply

