• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Water Logged

Thank you all who commented to encourage me.  It surely lifted my spirits and helped me realize how awesome 14.5 really is!!  You all are the best!

After my lunch post I climbed in a hot bubble bath and ended up staying there for 1 1/2 hours.  I ended up finishing “The Skinnygirl Dish” and enjoying my limbs feeling nice and relaxed in the water.

I’m sure I was nice and water logged by the time I got out but my body felt so much better!!!  I’m thinking that 4.5 mile run will happen tomorrow at some point.  I’m hoping to have my body feel almost back to normal after a good night’s rest so I can redeem myself with my run.

After catching up on many food blogs, I decided it was time to start dinner.  Now as you all know, I’m not usually the cook around here.  The hubs usually has dinner made for me when I come home from work or after I get in from a night run so I didn’t want to be lame and do something I normally would in the past like a sandwich, chips, salad, etc.

I settled on baked marinated salmon topped with sauteed mushrooms placed on a bed of baby organic spring mix, shredded carrots and feta cheese.

I didn’t need dressing due to the salmon being so moist.

I started out placing my marinated salmon fillet in foil and baking it for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

I sauteed my mushrooms.  I drizzled them with EVOO and topped them with fresh cracked pepper and salt and a tad of garlic salt for added flavor and cooked in the skillet on medium heat, stirring and flipping constantly to avoid burning.

Before cooking:

I figured that part of the Italian style bread that I brought home last night from dinner would be an appropriate carb to add.  I put some EVOO in a ramekin and topped with fresh cracked black pepper for dipping and warmed up the bread in the oven.

Now everything together!

Ok maybe not everything… forgot the mushrooms!

And I might have had one or two more pieces of bread. 😉

I think I did pretty good if I do say so myself.

It was definitely worth it to take the time and effort to prepare a home cooked meal, even if I was just cooking for me.

I might see some fruit in my future but for now I’m pretty content.

Can’t wait to wake up in the morning and see how my body feels!  Praying for a good opportunity to get that run in!!

I hope you all have had a great Saturday!  I know that my weekend will get 100% better once my hubs gets back home tonight.  I can’t wait!!

What’s a good meal that you’ve made for yourself lately?

6 Responses

  1. Yeah! I’ve been looking for salmon recipes!

  2. Did you buy the salmon pre-marinated or marinate it yourself?

    • I actually bought them pre-marinated at Sam’s and I think they are good. I do have to say that I would rather have them fresh and grill or bake them myself with my own marinade. We’ve had them pre-packaged from Sam’s since before the New Year and there was one left so it worked out perfectly for me to make it just for me!

  3. Good for you enjoying a nice long bath! That sounds great right about now… One of the best meals I’ve made more recently was Quorn Cutlets with Kabocha Coulis http://wheres-the-beach.blogspot.com/2010/01/free-time-friday.html

  4. Yummmm….I think everyone should like salmon. I don’t like fish yet I LOVEEEE salmon. Now I kinda want some (and it’s like 9:00 am here!)…maybe for dinner this week.

  5. Such a delicious and healthy meal! I love that you used the little ramekin for the olive oil! So classy and cute!
    And a bubble bath sounds so comforting on this rainy day!
    I made myself a nice bowl of oatmeal today that really comforted me and felt good!
    Have a happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

