• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Re-Fueling

This is a going to be a quick post because I’m in the middle of finishing my 19 mile run. I woke up this morning around 7:30 and ended up falling back asleep while debating whether I should go ahead and get out of bed and start my run or not. I ended up waking back up at 9 and headed out for my run at about 10:20. I ended up running all the way to one of the parks we are supposed to run through during the marathon. It’s over 3 miles of hills. So I definitely got my hill training in today. I did stop and start some but for the most part, I tackled those steep hills head on.

On the way back towards our loft I decided that I needed to stop and re-fuel with some water and Gatorade. My body is really feeling the burn today and I think it’s mostly due to the fact that I’ve been pushing myself to at least run below an 11 minute/mile today. And for the most part, I have accomplished that. Here and there I’ve been a little over but I don’t think I’ve come close to a 12 minute/mile so I’m extremely happy with pushing my body. Even if that does mean I have to stop and re-fuel.

I finished the remaining 1/3 of my Gatorade from my 17 miler last week.

And have tried to consume this whole glass of water.

It’s hard to chug this fluid when I know I’m going to get back out there and run. I am so afraid of getting side splints but I also have to listen to my body and listen to what it needs.

I’m also shedding a layer of clothing while I’m at it. The North Face jacket doesn’t breathe as well so I’m going to throw on a long sleeve tee and see if that helps.

I’ve currently ran 10.21 miles and have 8.79 to go! I’m going to finish the last leg running around the University’s campus so I can stay close to home in case my body starts acting up after drinking the Gatorade and water. Hopefully it won’t give me any trouble.

Alright, I’m off to finish my remaining mileage! Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

