• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Listening to My Body

So I headed back out after I posted earlier to finish up my 19 miler.  I am ashamed to say that I only made it to 14.5 miles.  My body started to completely shut down on me.  It was aching and burning everywhere and as much as my heart wanted to keep going that last 4.5 miles, I knew I needed to stop before I injured myself.

Now I’m battling the guilt in my heart from stopping but my intellect tells me I did the right thing.  Throughout reading “Run Less Run Faster” I have read many times that you need to listen to your body.  I listened and now am trying to deal with accepting that I did not complete my whole 19 mile run but that I did just run 14.5 miles and that is great in and of itself!  Just three short years ago, I couldn’t even run more than two minutes straight so now that I’m running these crazy, long distances, I have to be proud of myself.  I know runners have good running days and not so good running days but I just want marathon day to be a good running day for me!  I think it will be because of all the people and energy buzzing around… and of course, adrenaline helps out a ton!

But all in all, I finished up my run strong at 2:40:04.  I was completely on track to finish the whole 19 miles in less than 3:30:00 so I’m proud.  I ran 17 miles in 3:37:00 last week so I’m definitely improving my time slowly but surely.

Also, I failed to eat breakfast this morning.  I know, I know, that’s probably so horrible of me but I won’t make that mistake again.  I am sort of terrified of eating before long runs because of the possibility of side splints.

And I think I need to conquer the hill training on my shorter run days so I don’t wear myself out on my long runs.

So anyway… I think I did great with the distance I did run.  I ran all my miles within 10:30-11:15 minute/miles and that is super improved from last week when all my miles were between 12-13 minute/mile.

I would LOVE to finish the remaining 4.5 miles tonight or tomorrow but I’m going to wait and see how my body feels.  Tomorrow seems more reasonable than tonight so I’m keeping my fingers crossed to wake up with a bolt of energy tomorrow and go run my heart out and redeem myself.  😉

So, I came inside to dig into some food since I hadn’t eaten all day.

I figured a ham sandwich on whole wheat would be a great post-recovery run meal.

Two pieces whole wheat toast, provolone cheese, fresh shaved ham, spring mix, tomato, onion, and a light spread of mayo.  (I love mayo and refuse to take it out of my kitchen.  Moderation is key.)

Doesn’t it look tasty?

I added a mandarin for my side instead of chips.  I love these little things!  Can’t you tell since I eat them pretty much daily?!

I’m now going to recover by soaking in a hot bubble bath while reading some more of Bethenny Frankel’s book, “The Skinnygirl Dish” and maybe watch a little bit of the tube for a wind down.

See you tonight after dinner!

Do you ever have not so good running/workout days and if so, what do you do to battle your heart from feeling so discouraged?

6 Responses

  1. I think that you should be VERY proud of your self because you totally ran a half marathon this morning on NO fuel. I would totally recommend that you try to eat something before you run. I have heard people say that a simple pb sandwich is good pre run fuel. I hope that you give it a try and I am sure that you will dominate the Marathon!!

  2. Oh you totally shouldn’t feel ashamed! I’m totally impressed with your mileage as it was. I think what you need to do is think about what you did or didn’t do (like not eating breakfast) and just learn from that.

    I definitely have days when workouts just flat out suck. Usually it’s b/c I’m too fatigued and haven’t properly fueled or allowed a needed rest day. I try to think about the workout and learn from it, then move on.

    At least you listened to your body and stopped before you ended up injured.

  3. Don’t feel ashamed! I think you’re doing great!

    And I love those little mandarin oranges, too 🙂

  4. oh my goodness, 14.5 miles is AMAZING girl! I am happy when I simply can do 5! heheh 🙂

  5. […] I conquered 21 miles! I still can’t believe it. After my disappointing attempt at 19 miles a couple of weeks ago, I have to admit, I was quite nervous heading out for a whopping 21! I started out and was dressed […]

Leave a Reply

