• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Catching Up

It seems like I haven’t posted in forever and it was only yesterday afternoon!  I feel like I have so much to catch you all up on!  So get ready for a little bit of a lengthy post.  😉

Plans changed for girls night last night.  Dinner ended up being canceled and I ended up staying at work until after 7 p.m. because we got busy.  They ended up still going to the movie but by the time I got out of work, swung by some semi-healthy fast food place to pick up a bite on the way, I would’ve definitely not gotten there in time so I decided to not stress about it and the hubs and I grabbed a quick sushi dinner instead.

We ended up at Osaka for my first true taste of sushi.  I let the hubs take the reins and order for me.  He ended up ordering three rolls to split between the two of us with 8 pieces to each roll.

Sorry for the flash!  Left to Right: Dynamite Roll, Spicy California and Spicy Salmon

My favorite would definitely have to be the dynamite roll.  Surprise surprise that it’s the spiciest and we almost didn’t order it!

I ended up inhaling 4 pieces of each kind because they were pretty small but ended up feeling super bloated and full later on.

I was still hungry after the 12 pieces (12 pieces!!!  Is that a lot of sushi for one person?!) so I ordered a small house salad with ginger dressing.  The hubs ate half.

Gyoza (Pork dumplings) was ordered by the hubs and I ate two.

P.S. Thank you all for your suggestions for sushi!!!  I see sushi as future meals in the future.  Probably not a weekly thing because of all the sodium but definitely an every once in a while treat!

So like I said before, by the time I got home, I was super full and decided that when I was packing my lunch that I would try to eat super clean today.  And I feel like I suceeded.

Breakfast: Special K low fat granola and Kashi Honey Toasted H2H.  My new favorite cereal combo!!

The combo really filled me up and lasted me several hours.

Lunch: Organic baby spring mix topped with shredded carrots, alfalfa sprouts, tomatoes, feta cheese and balsamic vinaigrette.

And obviously 4 whole wheat crackers.

See how large how salad it was?!

It was definitely pretty filling.

Since we were running around busy today, I was definitely hungry by 4 p.m. for the snack I packed.

Diced whole apple, grapes and sliced banana.  I thought I would maybe eat only half but ended up eating the whole thing which really was a lot but I was hangry!!

I couldn’t wait to leave work to go running in the great weather we had today.  We are supposed to get rain the rest of the week so I’m glad I fit in a 3 miler tonight.  And in 63 degree weather, I wasn’t going to complain.

I ended up really pushing myself tonight.  I did sprints the last 1.5 miles and ended up running 3 miles in 27:00 minutes!  Woo hoo!!  Take that pavement!  I burned it up!

I quickly headed inside to eat some dinner that was waiting on me!  Grilled chicken, asparagus and sauteed mushrooms topped with a drizzle of cheese.

The piece of chicken was HUGE!

So I ate half of the chicken and half the asparagus to put it on my salad for tomorrow’s lunch.  Grilled chicken salad?  Yes, please!

Whew… I guess that’s about it for now.  Now time for a much needed shower and wind down.  Climbing in bed to watch The Biggest Loser!  Love Tuesday nights!!

Be sure and stop by another Lauren’s blog and enter to win her giveaway!!  

What are your staple foods for eating cleaner?  Salads, fruit, veggies, lean meat, etc.?

Leave a Reply

