• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

iPhoning It

Well, I’m iPhoning it today with the blog post. I’m headed out of work a little early today to meet up with some fun women for dinner at Fuji, a Japanese restauraunt across town, and then we’re headed to see Alice in Wonderland. Pretty excited. I’m really excited, not only for great girl time, but for my first run with sushi. I’ve tried sushi in the past but wasn’t a fan. Now that my palate is completely different, I think I’ll like it. I tried a California roll as a sample at Fresh Market a few weeks ago and really liked it so we’ll see.

Anyway, so I don’t know if I’ll get a post in later tonight so I figured I’d blog away while I was eating lunch.

Breakfast was a bowl of Raisin Bran cereal that I had packed last week but never had the chance to eat. I can’t wait to break open a new cereal tomorrow!!

I was famished by 11:30 so I decided to go ahead and eat lunch. Sloppy Joe leftover from last night.

Lay’s BBQ baked chips on the side. Obviously.

I brought a homemade peanut granola bar for an afternoon snack and am hoping to eat it around 3 or so. I don’t want to be too ravenous by dinner time or not hungry enough to enjoy the sushi.

Well, I need help. What would you recommend me ordering for sushi tonight? I pretty much like anything these days. I’d love your input, favorite sushi and why you love it so much. So the floor is open. Have at it! 😉

6 Responses

  1. Try the seaweed salad!!! Not really sushi, but they have it as a “salad”.

  2. hi! i ran across your blog through ashley. i just love it! so fun to see what you eat, never thought i would enjoy that!

    let me just say. i’m not a seafood fan, at all. but i do LOVE sushi! but i only eat the cooked stuff, nothing raw. so, maybe try a spicy crunchy roll. it shrimp based. or a crunchy roll, same as above but sans spicy. or anything with crab & cream cheese is delish!!! hope you like the sushi! you now have me craving it!! enjoy your day!

    • Thanks for the suggestions! I have seen other people eat seaweed salad and I do think I might like it! I do want to be concsious of eating sushi as healthy and clean as possible. I know the rice can catch up to ya. Keep the ideas coming! It’s getting me more excited for tonight! Wish I could order a sample taste of everything!!!

  3. The absolute best sushi roll is the Tornado Roll. I am not a fan of fish, but this one has smoke salmon on it, with some cream cheese and sometime avocado. And of course the rice and stuff, but then it is fried a little and has a yummy sauce squirted over the top. I love the texter to this one, because it is very “normal” feeling to me rather than sticky and overpowering. I don’t eat anything raw either.
    A lot of times when a group goes out together for sushi and they like a lot of similar sushi rolls, they tend to just order a few rolls and all share, so that’s a suggestion that yall could do. That way, you can order a salad and whatever else, but get to try out the different kinds of rolls to see what you like without having to buy a whole one and hating it!

  4. I was not a fan of sushi either until I tried the spicy tuna roll!! It has so much flavor! I’m definitely hooked! Hope you enjoy your experience!

  5. I’m sad I couldn’t join y’all tonight. How was it?

Leave a Reply

