• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Anthem 5k

I’m back at home from the Anthem 5k and I couldn’t be any happier at this moment. I ran and finished well. My fear starting out is that I would end up walking for some reason and I didn’t! I guess I was letting the jitters get the best of me but all ended up being fine and dandy.

I woke up this morning later than I had planned and did not eat breakfast. My stomach had butterflies and I just felt in my heart that I would be okay without eating. Especially since I ate such a balanced dinner last night.

It was super cold this morning (30 degrees) so I ended up adding leggings under my pants, wearing gloves and throwing on my North Face jacket over my long sleeve race tee. I’m so glad I added the extra layers. I might’ve been able to go without the jacket but it didn’t hold me up and I didn’t feel like I got too overheated. The gloves came off and into the pockets at 1.5 miles.

Anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself. The hubs had to drop me off downtown and miss the start of the race because of the lack of parking and the craziness. Here’s me before I got out of the car.

I got to the crowd of people waiting inย  line, put in my iPod and made my way with the rest of the crowd to the starting line.

I started to run over the starting line, hit play on my iPod, hit start on my Garmin and was off.

Before I knew it I was falling into pace and weaving in and out of runners and walkers and heard a man scream “You’re at mile one! Two more to go!”. Wow, that went by fast. Then before I knew it, I was at 2.5 miles, starting to get a right side splint and knew I had to push onward. I was looking forward to seeing the hubs at the finish line and started to look around for him when I saw the Finish line in the distance. I crossed the finish line all smiles but no sign of the hubs. I called to see where he was and he was unable to make it to the finish line because of the lack of parking situation so he missed it. Tears quickly came to my eyes and quickly went away as I thought about what I had just accomplished and the fact there will be many more races ahead and we’ll plan better in the future.

I grabbed a couple of bananas, bottled water, powerade, apple and cinnamon bagel from the Panera booth and set out to meet up with the hubs.

To my delight he was standing outside the car waiting to take a picture of me. My “finish” picture. I couldn’t be happier.

All my loot. Actually that’s only part of it because I stuffed my pockets full too.

I ate half the cinnamon bagel and gave the rest to Chad.

I also ate one of my bananas.

In the car on our way home.

Now I’m home and plan on watching “Couple’s Retreat” that we rented yesterday, making the homemade peanut butter granola bars and vegging. And I’m totally enjoying the runner’s high right now. P.S. I can’t imagine how much of a runner’s high I’ll get from completing the marathon! You’ll probably have to resuscitate me!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, here are my Garmin stats: Official race results will be available later today.

Mile 1: 10:25 minutes

Mile 2: 10:34 minutes

Mile 3: 10:11 minutes

Remaining .15 miles: 1:36 minutes

Total: 32:47 minutes

I think my official time will be faster because I think I started my Garmin a little early. We shall see!!!

Thank you all for your support, well-wishes, and encouraging words for today.

How do I copy the mileage breakdown from my Garmin Training Center software so I can paste it one my blog?


4 Responses

  1. Endorphins = Awesome.
    I’ve never been a runner but I used to take Kenpo twice a week. Our instructor always gave us a great work out – plus we got to hit things :}.

  2. Fantastic job! You and I seem to be at about the same place running-wise. Oh, and we have the same name, which is awesome on its own ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Correction: In terms of your pace in the 5k, we’re in the same place. I just realized you’re training for a marathon..um, I’m not quite up to that place yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

Leave a Reply

