• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Stocked Up

Since I was still hungry when I left you all last night, I decided a saltine peanut butter sandwich would be in order.  Well worth it.  I went to bed satisfied.

Despite staying up and watching TV in bed until 1 a.m., I was up bright and early by 8 a.m.  I think I actually like waking up without an alarm clock.  I decided to go with a sliced red apple drizzled with almond butter for breakfast.

I have officially decided that I absolutely do not like almond butter.  I ended up scraping it of most of the apples best I could but could still taste it.  I think the dryness and stickiness majorly throws me off.  It’s just too overwhelming.  So whatever, I’m a peanut butter girl.  Who cares?  Not me because I LOVE peanut butter.

We set off this morning to head to my eye appointment and I received great news that I can ditch my glasses and put my contacts back in.  Ah, it makes my life so much easier!

We celebrated by going and grabbing some Panera Bread.  It was right at the verge of brunch and lunchtime.  The hubs opted for a sugary breakfast pastry treat and I opted for some lunch.

Half a tuna sandwich with onion, lettuce and tomato with a cup of Garden Vegetable Medley and an apple.

The Garden Vegetable Medley was great!

I ended up saving the apple for a late afternoon snack and was glad I did!

We needed the fuel for our major grocery shopping trip and we burnt all of our fuel up.  Between going back and forth between Natural food stores to running into 5 different stores for ingredients, we are whooped.  We started out at this awesome place in Louisville called Lotsa Pasta because we recently heard they had great frozen pizza dough so we ventured in.  We’ve been here once before with some friends but didn’t make any purchases.  Today we bought some of their signature marinara sauce, pizza sauce, a block of Parmesan cheese and two balls of frozen whole wheat pizza dough.  Get this… the pizza dough is only $1.59 each!  How great of a deal is that?  Their marinara sauce was only like $2 so we walked out only paying $12 for everything we got.  I even snuck in samples of their hummus wraps, Cajun crab and sun dried tomato spread.

We then actually headed to Rainbow Blossom right across the street to pick up some Crispy Puffed Wheat Cereal and Brown Rice Syrup for the homemade peanut butter granola bars I’m going to make later today or tomorrow.

Then it was off to Whole Foods (my fave) for some more ingredients for the granola bars and a few random items along the way like two 3 lb. bags of clementines (they were having buy one, get one free.  Can’t beat it), alfalfa sprouts (a first for me, ever!), asparagus (my favorite veggie as of late), and Puffin cinnamon cereal (another first)… along with all my other ingredients for the granola bars like raw pumpkin and sunflower seed, finely ground flax seed, unsweetened coconut and rolled oats.  Whew.

Then it was off to our staple Sam’s Club and Wal-Mart trip.  I think we have both decided to forgo Wal-Mart from now on.  At least the big Wal-Mart’s.  It’s too crazy there and I’m way to A.D.D. for all the people.  I find myself running down each aisle a million times to find all the things on my shopping list because there are too many people.  So we figured the Neighborhood Wal-Mart Market will be the way to go from now on.  We went there for the first time last week to pick up a couple of items since we were out and about where one was located and it was so much cleaner, well-organized and not busy at all.  It makes a huge difference.  So bye bye mainstream Wal-Mart.  We hope we won’t be seeing you soon.

Look at all of our goodies that we brought home.

This still isn’t everything. We did end up getting chicken, flank steak (Obvi), and top sirloin round for a roast.  I definitely love meat but the hubs needs it at every meal.  I, on the other hand, think I could go without it more.  But I do like it and that’s why I eat it.  I did pick up some Morning star vegan “sausage” patties for breakfast.  Hope I like them.

Fridge Before:

Fridge After:

Cabinet/Pantry Before:

Cabinet/Pantry After:

I would stay we are stocked up. We are good for the whole month now.  I know some people can’t imagine shopping for a whole month but I can’t imagine shopping from week to week.  I never know what we’re going to be in the mood for and a week at a time takes so much more planning on my part so I get everything I know we’ll use for the month and go from there.  We might have to go back to the store for little things throughout the month like milk or bread but we pretty much are good to go.  And this gives us no excuse to say “We have nothing to eat, let’s just go out”.  Ya hear?

I’m really excited about buying this new Special K cereal that is out and I sampled today.  It’s low fat granola and it’s DELICIOUS.  The hubs already ate a bowl and gave it his seal of approval.  This will be my first experience with granola cereal and I think I’m going to fall in love.  We now have 4 boxes of cereal on hand so we are good to go.  I also bought some Whole Wheat waffles for good measure and a hot breakfast on the weekends.

Ok ok, so I won’t keep listing all the items I bought at the store even though I’m super excited right now.  You’ll see them in all of my meals soon enough.

Oh and I went and picked up my race packet for the 5k tomorrow!  I’ll be laying all of my race gear out tonight so you’ll see pictures either tonight or tomorrow.

After getting home and unpacking our enormous amount of groceries, organizing and all that it was time for an afternoon snack… my apple from earlier.

And some of my trailmix.

And I’m still hungry.  It must be because of my 17 mile run yesterday.  🙂

We are having our neighbors, Jack and Patrick, over for a spur of the moment dinner tonight so we’re excited.  Now we just need to tidy up a bit.  Look at this sleepy babe in my lap as I write this blog.  I hate to disturb him. Especially when I’ve about put him to sleep with some neck scratching.

But when his daddy came home from renting us a movie he was wide awake again.  Isn’t he the cutest?

We shall say goodbye for now.  I’ll see you later tonight or tomorrow!  Race time is almost here!!!  😉

Leave a Reply

