• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Pre-Race Jitters

Well, I officially have pre-race jitters.  I know it might seem silly because it’s only a 5k and compared to my long runs lately, it’s nothing.  But I’m still sort of nervous!  I haven’t ran in a race in almost 3 years.

I have all of my things set out and ready to go for in the morning.

Shoes, Garmin, Race Shirt, Sports Bra, Number is pinned on, Socks, Hairband, Pants….

AH!!  Freaking out a tad.  So pray for me! Oh and I just remembered I need to charge my iPod!  Fantastic!

Dinner was great.  Grilled chicken, mashed potatoes, bread and a big leafy organic spring mix salad.

That is a booty load of chicken and I just knew I was going to have leftovers but I scarfed every last bite of my food down and am still a little hungry!!  Oh and if you look closely enough, you’ll see alfalfa sprouts on my salad.  Love adding it to my salad!  Can’t wait to eat it on other things too!

I think I’m carb loaded for tomorrow.  Which sounds so strange since it’s only a 5k but I still needed carbs on board and I didn’t eat like I was running the marathon tomorrow so I think I’m good.  The hubs and Jack and Patrick have now left for a Dairy Queen blizzard run and I stayed behind so I could shower and wind down so I can get a decent night’s rest.  Oh, and the fact that the blizzard would’ve been way too tempting for me, especially since I’m still a tad hungry.

Alright, I need major advice between now and 6 a.m. from all you runners out there (and I know you’re out there!).  😉  I plan on being up and awake by 6 a.m. (the race starts at 8 a.m.) so I can eat, have enough time to stretch and mentally prepare myself so here’s the question(s).

What should I eat in the morning?  Carbs like toast or fruit?  Or anything else?

Do you wear the race shirt they give you or your own running clothes? Is it weird if I wear the race shirt they gave me even though it’s cotton?  It’s supposed to be in the 30 degree temperature range tomorrow so I figured that’d be fine since it’s long sleeve?!

Ok, that’s all my mind can muster at the moment to ask.  I need advice ASAP!  Hopefully I’ll fit in a post before the race in the morning but if not, then expect me sometime early afternoon tomorrow.

5 Responses

  1. Good luck with your run! My suggestion would be to eat whatever you would normally eat in the morning. Don’t try anything new on race day! I normally have some toast with honey. Nothing too heavy if you’re not used to it.

    I never wear the race shirt in the actual race, but I always see a lot of people who do. It’s up to you!

    Good luck!

    • Yes, I’m thinking maybe toast with peanut butter in the morning. I think my routine of cereal would be too sloshy in the stomach. Thanks so much for your advice! I feel like a first grader being all nervous over a 3 mile run. 😉

  2. Good luck! Where is your run?

  3. Oooo good luck!!! You’ll be awesome!!

Leave a Reply

