• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Update

A quick update about our kitty boy, Nattie, real quick.  The vet said that it is probably just him not digesting his new food as quick as he should because of (beware: gross description ahead) hairballs possibly being in his gut.  So we are now giving him hairball medication daily for 5 days and then maintenance dosing each week.  We are so thankful it doesn’t appear to be anything serious and this morning was the first time in a while that he didn’t throw up.  I know this might seem silly to people that don’t love cats or animals but these are our babies and we were about them.  So thankfully he’s doing well and looks healthy per our vet.

With momma at the vet.  Like the glasses?  I don’t wear them in public often but I will be wearing them 24/7 this next week!

We were in and out of the vet pretty quickly to my surprise so we headed home to chill out before a concert we went to last night.  We had some flank steak, peas and a Sister Schubert’s roll before we left.  Can you tell our pantry is getting bare?  Peas… really?  Yup, using up every last drop of food we have before having to grocery shop next weekend!

We have officially eaten all of our 30 pack of Sister Schubert’s rolls from Sam’s Club so we’ll be switching to a healthier whole grain this next visit.  I didn’t want to waste them since we had bought them way before the New Year.  But let’s be honest, those things, white or wheat, are pretty life changing.  The best rolls ever!!

We headed down the street to where we gather for church, The 930 Art Center to see the new art exhibit that is on display (which, in my opinion, is the one I’ve like the best so far) and listen to our friend, Dave Moisan, open for Dirt Poor Robins.  They were both awesome and I so hate that I forgot my camera but I’m hoping they’ll post pictures soon because it was theatrically amazing.  They all dressed like a modern day Alice in Wonderland and put on a killer show.  It’s so neat to have so many talented people within our church and community.  I’m in awe of artistic people because I’m so NOT artistic.  But seriously, go on iTunes and buy their past album.

Anyway… so I didn’t blog last night because we got in late and I had to get all settled in for getting up for work this morning.  And of course, we were busy at work today.  Usually the weekends are fairly laid back and less busy but apparently, being busy is the story of our life around our unit these days.  Which is fine by me because work goes by quickly!

So I fit in a bowl of Raisin Bran.. obvi.

Then later for lunch this is my makeshift placement and food.  Tuna, crackers and a pear. I also had a couple of carrots and a few peanuts.

I almost have finished my Run Less Run Faster book!  I am obsessed and see me reading it over and over.

I hurried throughout the rest of the afternoon and rewarded my running around our floor with an apple with 3/4 tablespoon of peanut butter.

Thank goodness that held me through until we had dinner with friends tonight because I was starving for dinner.  Imagine how hungry I’d have been if I didn’t eat my apple!

We headed to a friends house to have dinner and had some AMAZING spinach pesto pasta.  I need this recipe immediately Lindsey!  Please and thank you.

Along with a piece (or two) of bread and the fruit salad the hubs and I brought along.  I ate two big helps of the fruit salad.  I just love fruit!  And the bread was so good… I could’ve eaten the whole loaf!

Our fruit salad was pretty simple with just red grapes, pineapple, pears, apples and bananas.  I have leftovers for work tomorrow.  YES!

That’s about it on my end of things.  I must run soon!  I have a 5k next Saturday and I want to feel my strongest so I don’t want to run too close to the race day so my body will be well rested but I need to get at least one run in and some strength training in before next weekend.  Especially since I have a 17 miler next Saturday or Sunday.

I hope all of you have had a great start to your weekend.  I shall see you soon.

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite fruit?

Mine is a toss up between bananas and apples.  I just love both, especially since they both taste divine with peanut or almond butter.

3 Responses

  1. Strawberries!

  2. I’m glad to hear the kitty’s gonna be ok. My cat’s getting on in years (15 this spring!) and I get suspicious of her health pretty quickly these days, though she’s always been pretty stinkin’ healthy.

  3. Kiwi! Glad to hear your kitty will be ok!

Leave a Reply

