• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Unexpected Run

The rest of the work day went by fairly fast and I ended up eating some of my yummy trail mix and two unpictured saltines topped with peanut butter.

I have not seemed to be able to get enough food in my system!  I’m always hungry.  I’m pretty sure my appetite has increased due to my increase in running, strength training, etc.  Which makes complete sense.  So I’m trying to listen to my food voice instead of food noise to figure out if I’m really hungry or I’m trying to fill up some boredom.  I’ve discovered that 99% of the time, I really am hungry!  So if I really feel I’m hungry and I’ve drank plenty of water, listened to my food voice instead of food noise, and am STILL hungry, I’ll eat.  My body is obviously trying to tell me it needs more if that happens.  Which has been a lot lately.  Anyway, I don’t know what I just got on the tangent but I did.  Oh well.

Unfortunately, our dessert plans were canceled tonight so I headed home and figured I’d take advantage of having a free night so I laced up my running shoes and hit the pavement for an easy 3 miles.  Tonight I had a little bit of a revelation while running.  I’ve been trying super hard to run fast… really fast and I end up overexerting myself and losing all my energy.  I just feel that if I say I’m a runner, then I should be quick.  I am not that fast.  I average about 10-11 minute miles and I’ve come to peace with it.  I’m not trying to break a world record or anything with running my first marathon.  My goal is to finish.  Ninety eight percent of people in the whole world will never run/complete a marathon.  I should be proud enough to even have the chance, health, motivation, support and ability to even train for a marathon!  I don’t care if it takes me the full 6 hours to cross that finish line, as long as I persevere through to the end, and not quit, then that’s all that matters.  I know that I can only go up from here.  I can train for next year’s race to be faster and stronger and even the years following.  I’m even hoping that in my lifetime that I’ll be able to qualify for Boston but I know my first time is not meant for that now and that’s perfectly fine.  There’s another tangent for the day!  So all in all, I ran my 3 miles in 32:26 and came back completely ready for dinner.

Dinner was perfect for after my run.  Organic baby spring mix topped with shredded carrots, feta cheese and tomatoes.  Oh and 4 slices of flank steak and homemade balsamic vinaigrette.

View from the top.

I’ve packed up another big salad about twice the size of this one for lunch tomorrow.  We’re fresh out of tomatoes though.  Another reason I can’t wait to make a grocery run next week!!

I hope you all enjoyed my tangents for the day.  🙂  I’m off to shower and get ready for bed.  Back to the baby factory tomorrow!

Question of the Day: Have you ever set too high of expectations for something at first and realized you’re setting it for totally “off” reasons?  If so, what?

Leave a Reply

