• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Pushing Through the Fifteen

Well, here I am, exhausted after my 15 mile run this afternoon. But before I go there, I’ll catch you up on the day.

I woke up bright and early (well, bright and early for a day I have off) before 8 a.m. It was nice to lay in bed and spend time with the hubs while eating breakfast in bed and talking.

My yummy breakfast.

Whole Wheat Waffle topped with a touch of butter and maple syrup. Perfect.

A side of a few strawberries and a Mott’s Apple.

After breakfast the hubs decided to hop in the car and head to Nashville for a guitar expo (or something like that) to see if he could find a buyer for one of his guitars or trade it. So I actually ended up eating leftovers from dinner last night for my lunch.

Delish! And perfect fuel for my 15 mile run.

Alright, so I geared up and hit the pavement for my long 15 miles. And boy were they long and HARD! I was able to wear a lot less layers today since the temperature hit almost 50 degrees. That was extremely nice! I didn’t take my water bottle this time and ended up stopping at a Subway twice and they were so sweet to give me water. Another reason I love Subway.

I even ran across this bridge into Indiana and did several miles in downtown Indiana.  Look at that sun!  I love that I got some sun in my bones today!

I did have to start and stop a few times but I conquered the miles! As I was hitting mile 10, my left knee really started bothering me but I pushed through and I’m so glad. It wasn’t excruciating pain but it was pain, nonetheless. Oh and the end of my toes feel like they are being rubbed raw. Errr!! Make it stop. But I know that goes with the running territory.

I got home and immediately hit the tub and soaked for quite a while. I looked like a prune by the time I got out because I was so water logged. I drank a crazy load of water and then drank half of this orange Gatorade to replenish some missing electrolytes.

Now I’m just waiting on the hubs to get back home so we can eat dinner. I’m starting to get hungry now that my body has calmed down. He should be home soon though.

I hope everyone has enjoyed their Saturday. Chad and I have church tomorrow with a pizza lunch following for us as Community Group leaders to get to know people that are seeking to get connected with a Community Group. So I’ll try to be making smart choices since I’ll have one of my favorite foods staring me in the face. I shall you see you lovelies tomorrow. I’m off to prep for dinner.

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite way to recover after a hard/intense workout or long run?

2 Responses

  1. I loved coconut water after the 90 minute Bikram yoga classes. TWice as much potassium as a banana and half the caloreis. Tasy too. My favorite brand is Zico. I think they have them at Whole Foods.

  2. thats so nice of the subway peeps to give u water! Best way to recover is to get into your pjs and lay on the couch for the rest of the afternoon lol. Great run girly!

Leave a Reply

