• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Gotta Get Back With It

Ok, I’ve seriously got to back with it.  I have been eating whatever I want and everything in sight for the past 3 days!!!  I think Valentine’s Day triggered my cravings.  Work being so busy that we can’t even sit down to eat a decent lunch hasn’t helped things either.  I started out this morning thinking I’d get back on the track.

I started with mixed fruit for breakfast.  Cantaloupe, pineapple and grapes.

For lunch one of our doctors ordered us Jimmy John’s gourmet sandwiches for lunch and I happily dug in!  I had a little bit of veggie and ham with a bag of BBQ chips of course.  Hindsight, I probably shouldn’t have eaten the bread and/or chips but I did because I was running around all morning and ended up famished by lunch time.

I didn’t eat an afternoon snack because it was so busy so I came home super hungry and knew the hubs had made some homemade turkey meatballs and didn’t want to just eat those so I finally ate my leftover grilled salmon and veggies from our Valentine’s Dinner.

I ate three turkey meatballs too with another side of asparagus.

Recipe for turkey meatballs:

Ground Turkey

Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs

One Large Egg

Italian Cheese Blend

Feta Cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

Form above ingredients into meatballs with hands

Brown turkeyballs in skillet with olive oil

Then place marinara sauce of choice, turkeyballs, 1/2 an onion, and sauteed mushrooms with a red wine reduction into crockpot on high for 1 1/2-2 hours.

Serve and Enjoy!

Instead of splurging on dessert like I have been for the past several days… I decided a packet of mini m&m’s would satisfy me just fine.  And I was right.

I am definitely running tomorrow night if I can but tonight I’m going to get in some leg and ab exercises.  I have been so lazy since my long run this past Friday!!!  Errrr…. I’m in a rut and don’t know how to get out!  All I want to do is eat horrible (but so yummy) food and veg.  I guess everyone has their moments, right?!

So other than the Jimmy John’s subs and chips today, I actually think I did okay on trying to get back on track with eating healthier and being more conscious of what’s going into my mouth.  I could do better but I’ll get there eventually!

I’m off to do some much needed strength training for the night.  See you all tomorrow!

Question of the Day: How do you get back on the bandwagon after falling off for a few days?!

3 Responses

  1. I know we have different views of eating healthy but – I think that eating a wholesome breakfast with lots of good fats really helps us stay on track. Wholesome grains and fats will fill you up like they should leaving you less hungry for junkier stuff later. We consume a ton of calories in our house (probably 2500 – 3000 easy even when we don’t work out! And we are big fans of real food, butter, meats, raw milk and so forth) so a great soaked oatmeal breakfast with lots of real butter or raw coconut oil, and other filling breakfast foods really keep us from getting off track with the day. If I have a bowl of cereal only, I am pretty much starved an hour later! Also several pastured eggs and some pastured pork sausage is another fave of ours! Here is a recipe for soaked oatmeal you may like (soaked to improve grain quality and digestion, we just starting soaking our grains this year!) http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2008/09/soaked-oatmeal-breakfast.html Enjoy!!!!

  2. The first thing I focus on when I want to get back on track is drinking tons of water. It seems to curb my appetite and makes me not crave sweets quite so much. Also, making sure I exercise makes me more conscious of what I eat. I don’t like to spend tons of time and energy working out to just turn around and gorge myself on junk food.

  3. I know what you mean about getting back on track. I always let myself indulge a little more around V-day so I’m in the same boat as you. Fruit is so refreshing in the morning. Good luck with everything.

Leave a Reply

