• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Valentine’s Dinner

What a fantastic Valentine’s Day!  After relaxing this afternoon it was off to church to hear a great and convicting sermon on praising our Lord.  I’m thankful for a biblical church that never fails to speak the truth even when it stings.

After church we headed off to our Valentine’s dinner at Napa River Grill.  We had never been here before so we figured tonight would be a good night to try it out.

We started with Ancho Calamari Ancho Calamari– Ancho chili pepper dusted crispy calamari served with banana ketchup and tomato basil sauce.

Insane delicious.

They served us cornbread before our meal and it was so good!  I’m officially obsessed with cornbread now.  I’ve had it twice in one week and it’s one of the first times I’ve really even had cornbread!  Now it’s everywhere… and I like it!

I had two small slices.

I ordered the Pama Salmon– Grilled salmon, pomegranate barbecue sauce, Capriole Farms goat cheese polenta, grilled asparagus.

I wasn’t as crazy about the goat cheese polenta so I only ate a couple of tiny bites but the hubs loved it!  And I only ate half of the salmon and asparagus so I’ll have a delish lunch tomorrow at work!

The hubs ordered the Grilled Beef Tenderloin with sauteed veggies and garlic mashers.

We decided to skip dessert at the restaurant because we didn’t see anything that knocked our socks off and we had planned on going home after we left and just skip dessert altogether but AHA! there was an ice cream store right down from our restaurant that was calling our name.

The Comfy Cow!  So ridiculously good and not necessary but I sure ate my two scoops of ice cream right up!  Cake batter flavored and mint chocolate chip.  Two of my very favorites and I can’t believe how great they were!!  We will be making more trips in the future for special treats.

The hubs got fresh roasted coffee flavored ice cream topped with hot fudge.

Now you see it…

Now you don’t… Now how did that happen?!

Finally back at home and I had to show off my killer shoes.

Kate Spade from head to toe… literally.

Super sad that I didn’t get a picture of my KS dress underneath but the lighting didn’t want to work to our advantage tonight!  Maybe next time.

I hope everyone had a great Valentine’s Day!  I know I splurged majorly on my eating but hey, it’s only one day and I’ll do better tomorrow.  Gotta live a little, right?!

Question of the Day: What did you do for Valentine’s Day?  Did you splurge on anything?



2 Responses

  1. that calamari looks amazing!! I did splurge on chocolate covered strawberries; it was definitely worth it!

  2. We’re so glad you discovered us and made us part of your Valentine’s Day. Hope to see you again soon.

Leave a Reply

