• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Simple Saturday

Don’t you just love having a simple Saturday?  I sure do.  It doesn’t happen very often to where the hubs and I don’t have chores to do or errands to run so today is/was a rarity.

Ah, dessert last night turned out even better than the pizza cookie we usually go seek out at Boombozz restaurant.  I told the hubs that this needs to be an every once in a while treat.  Not an every week occurrence because it’s way too good to resist.

The cooked cookie.  Not all the way cooked through.  But cooked enough not to be quite raw anymore.

A little vanilla ice cream to add.

And the end result is gooey, chocolatey perfection.

I can’t wait to eat the rest tonight!!!

Guess whose eyes were wide open at 6:30 this morning.  Yep, me!  I laid in bed for a little while and ended up falling back asleep for a bit but was up and at ’em the second time my eyes opened.  I got up, cleaned up the kitchen from dinner and dessert last night, loaded the dishwasher, cleaned up after the cats, etc.  I was a little busy bee this morning for no reason.  I just got a little spurt of cleaning energy I guess.

After my little burst of energy I chilled out for a bit and then it was time to get ready to head to lunch with a newer, but already dear, friend at Toast on Market. As always, Toast on Market never disappoints.  They are always spot on with their food and while I look at the menu each time I go, I end up ordering the same thing.

Ham & Cheese – Sharp, aged white cheddar joined with sliced ham, a tangy apple mustard and carmelized onions on a hardy ciabatta.

With a side of their insane pasta salad.

I have saved half of everything for dinner tonight since we have a big food day planned for V-Day tomorrow!  So tonight don’t be surprised to see a repeat of pictures from lunch today and dessert last night.  Don’t fix what isn’t broken, right?

Surprisingly, my body feels great after my long run yesterday.  My knees don’t feel like they’ve been put through a meat grinder at all!  I’m shocked!  I guess my body is agreeing with long distance running.

I’m off to watch some of the Winter Olympics with the hubs and relax.  Hope you all are having a simple Saturday as well.  See you later!

One Response

  1. And look, there’s that Ham & Cheese again :}

Leave a Reply

