• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Officially Halfway There!

Today has been a good day.  I enjoyed sleeping in this morning, spending time with the hubby and just relaxing.  I knew I needed to get geared up for my 13 mile long run I had today so I ate a couple hours before I ran so it’d settle and hopefully not get any side stitches.  I kept it light with two pieces of whole wheat toast and an apple with peanut butter.

I hit the ground running this afternoon all bundled up and ready to go with my new water bottle and sunglasses in tow.  The snow makes it so much brighter out there.

Excuse the looks of me sans makeup.

I definitely need to get used to running with a water bottle and drinking while running.  Chad was out running errands this afternoon during my run so I had him pull over and I threw my water bottle and gator in his car around mile 6.5.

Today’s run did not go as well as last week’s 11 mile run at all.  I don’t get having a great running day on one day and then on another, I feel like I can’t keep going!  So weird!  I did stop and start several times and got severely discouraged but knew if I didn’t push to finish my 13 miles that I would kick myself.  So even though it was touch and go, I finished in 2:28:17.  And to me, at this point, that’s all that matters.  Some days will be better than others I guess.  I ended up running 13.1 so I made it exactly to the halfway point for completing the marathon.  That, in itself, excites me.  I’m pretty sure that this snow and ice is holding me up.  I’m so ready for it to be gone for good!!!  I’m ready to not have to wear as many layers and not have to dodge ice patches.

I came home to climb in a warm bath, popped two extra strength Tylenol and got pretty excited because I knew that we were eating my mom’s spaghetti recipe tonight complete with garlic bread.  Usually I would not have garlic bread with pasta but since I just burned over 1100 calories, I would say I deserve it.  Chad served me a massive serving so I only ended up eating half and saving the other half for work next week.

We changed a few things from my mom’s recipe.  We used her sauce recipe exactly but substituted regular pasta for whole wheat and instead of ground beef, we went the ground turkey route.  Tasted just as great.

Then Chad told me he had a special treat for dessert.  A half baked big chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream.  Yummy!  It’s cooking now but I can’t wait to dive in!!!

It’s been a great day and I know the next couple of days are going to be even better.  I have a lunch date with two girlfriends tomorrow at one of my favorites in Louisville, Toast on Market. Chad and I decided to hang low tomorrow night and eat light because we have a full day on Sunday eating some of the best food around.  I’ll fill you as our day goes along.  I can’t reveal all our plans today!  🙂

Oh, and a huge thank you to all my wonderful friends who have been so encouraging with my endeavor to run this marathon in April!  You’re words resound in my head as I pound the pavement and I appreciate the Lord blessing me with you!

See you friends tomorrow!

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite family recipe or meal?

The spaghetti is one of my favorite’s but I’d have to say my mom’s pot roast is my absolute favorite.  No one can cook a roast like my momma!

One Response

  1. My mom made spaghetti every Monday night, and it’s a tradition in our family now. 🙂 I am so stinkin proud of you for your run today… Your commitment and perseverance is SO inspiring, Lauren. Truly!

Leave a Reply

