• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Smart Choices

Today was a glorious day of being off work. I ended up napping for a couple of hours unexpectedly. It was a nice change of pace for me.

I ended up only eating a pear and 1/3 of a Hershey’s cookies n cream bar for an afternoon snack. I’m glad the hubs ate the rest of the king size bar because I love candy way too much and probably wouldn’t have had the self control to stop.

We didn’t eat dinner before we left for community group because a group of us usually go grab something afterwards. Tonight we decided on IHOP. Chad has been wanting their all you can eat pancakes for a while so off we went. I knew me eating at IHOP wouldn’t be the smartest choice for me so I went and picked up Subway.

Six inch ham and cheese on whole wheat. Loaded with lettuce, bell peppers, black olives, banana peppers, onions, tomatoes and a strip of lite mayo.

Add a bag of barbeque baked Lay’s on the side and it’s a perfect meal.  So much healthier than the pancakes I would’ve binged on.  I can’t believe the baked BBQ Lay’s only has 140 calories to a bag and the regular is 230.  I didn’t think there would’ve been that much of a difference.  I love regular BBQ Lay’s and could eat a whole huge bag if I let myself but the baked are still good too and a better choice.

Here’s the hubby’s meal.

He added on three more pancakes after this first batch.  I had a bite of the second batch.  How he doesn’t way 500 pounds, I have no clue but he’s lucky.

We’re back home and hopefully we’ll wind down by watching Grey’s Anatomy from tonight but considering it’s already almost 11:30, I don’t know.  I’ll probably fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow.  Got to get a good night’s rest in so I can be ready for my 13 mile run tomorrow!  Wish me luck!

P.S. My camera charger came in the mail today so I’ll start having better pictures again!  Yippee!!  Just in time for our Valentine’s Day of good, delicious eating!

And… one more thing, if you want a chance to win a yogurt giveaway then hop over to fANNEtastic Food’s page and jump on board.

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite candy bar?

Mine isn’t the Hershey’s cookies n cream, even though it’s super yummy.  I would have to say my all time favorite is Reese’s Cups!!!  I love peanut butter and chocolate!

4 Responses

  1. My favorite candy bar is the reese’s big cup. It is just one, but it has extra peanut butter!

  2. I’d have to go with Reese’s Cups, too.

    • Katie and Sarah,

      I seriously don’t know what crazy person wouldn’t like Reese’s Cups. They are perfect! And Sarah, I have never had the big cup but have seen it. It might be my next candy bar splurge!!!

  3. I love all candy bars but the first thing that popped in my mind: Hersheys chocolate almond.

Leave a Reply

