• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

I Can’t Believe It

I was lucky enough to get off of work at 5 today so it gave me two extra hours to get my run in while it was still semi-light outside. I was glad it was light because that meant I got to take different running routes instead of the same ole little path I take to where Chad can look out the window and see me since it’s usually way dark when I run after work. I’m ready for daylight savings time. Are y’all with me on that one?!

I finished the other half of my banana for an afternoon snack before I left work and I’m so glad I did because I needed fuel for my long run tonight.

I got home, threw on my running shoes, Garmin Forerunner watch, started playing Pandora on my iPhone, bundled up and hit the pavement. I didn’t have too high of expectations of my 8.5 mile run but I knew I wanted to just run and run well. I figured I’d do my routine stopping and starting throughout the miles but I got to running and just didn’t stop. I got to 6.5 miles and stopped for 30 seconds to call the hubs and let him know that I was going to push myself and run the whole 11 miles that I was supposed to run yesterday. I stopped one more time when I got a side splint at 7.5 miles. Thank goodness it resolved in about 30 seconds because I knew I didn’t want to stop. I made it to 11 miles and couldn’t believe it. I’ve been truly discouraged about my will power and physical strength to train and run the marathon but after tonight I physically and mentally KNOW that I can do it! I ran slower than I expected, around 12 minutes/mile so I finished in 2:08. Oh and the fact there were patches of ice everywhere made a difference as well. I’m not disappointed that it was slower than I wanted because I ran the whole time and ran 11 miles! I’ve never even come close to running 11 miles in my whole life!!!

My body is feeling the pain already. I hopped crawled into the bathtub full of cold water to give my muscles a little recovery. Brrr. That was rough but hopefully worth it. I’m hoping I’m able to move in the morning because I have work to attend to.

The hubs made me a crazy good salad for dinner tonight as I was freezing in the tub. Organic spring mix, feta cheese, carrots, tomatoes, homemade croutons, and homemade balsamic vinaigrette.

Look what I had for dessert. Yes, the other half of my Reese’s Cup blizzard that I put in the freezer last night. After a quick zap in the microwave to soften, it tasted just as good as last night. So glad I saved half!!

We’re having a superbowl party at work tomorrow. It’s a lunch party instead of dinner thing because we’re obviously day shifters so I’ll be enjoying an array of yummy, greasy, fattening food tomorrow. I think I deserve to splurge a little after burning over 1000 calories on my run tonight. (Per my Garmin)

I made peanut butter cookies from scratch for my dish to bring. Obvi. It’s my favorite quick homemade go to dessert.

I’m going to crawl into bed, maybe read a tad and pray that I can move my limbs tomorrow morning. I hope everyone has a restful Sunday! See you tomorrow!

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite go to dish to take to a potluck, party, work, etc.?

One Response

  1. I love bringing turkey chili. It’s a low-fat, protein-rich alternative to the typical junk food at such things. I could eat it all day long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

