• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Treadmill Running

Can you believe that after community group all of us made a stop at Chick-fil-a to eat dinner… AGAIN! I was starving again. I have no idea what’s gotten into me. I feel hungry a lot lately. Obviously it’s the training and my body is physically telling me I need more food in my system. I decided to go a healthier route than my regular fried chicken sandwich and got a chargrilled chicken sandwich instead.

Not bad at all. I ate a few of the hubs fries too.

I did eat a little dessert at community group last night. The first is graham sticks with a cream cheese and mini chocolate chip ball and the other is homemade, from scratch brownies made by our friend Dabney.

I came home knowing that I had today off so I stayed up later than usual watching a little TV and found myself falling asleep with the TV on so I knew it was time for sleep. I planned to wake up this morning and go on my 11 mile run before a prosthodontist appointment I had scheduled but it was raining cats and dogs this morning. So I climbed back in bed, got a couple of more hours of shut-eye and then it was time to get ready to tackle the day.

On the way to my prosthodontist appointment we saw that they had opened a brand new Fresh Market a mile down from the office we were headed to. So after my yucky teeth impression session, we decided to go see what Grand Opening deals they might have. They didn’t have too many crazy deals like I thought they would but we ended up picking up a few things we needed anyway like feta cheese, asparagus, peanut butter, olives, mushrooms and tomatoes. They did have a few sample stations. We tried cooked bay scallops, california sushi rolls and homemade granola. I’ve not been a granola fan at all the few times I’ve tried it but the sample was yummy! I think I might have to go back to buy some. I held off today but really kind of wish I had gotten some!

I love their fresh seafood!!

I knew after our random store run, that it was time to hit the gym to run my 11 miles since the rain was holding me up from running outside. I started out strong but before I knew it, sweat was dripping everywhere, I had only run 2.5 miles and felt like I was going to die. The gym was literally 80 degrees and no fans. That is so not conducive to running 11 miles. And the fact that I feel like a hamster on a revolving wheel makes it even less appealing. So I decided to come home, hope that the rain clears up and run the remaining 8.5 later today. If I can’t run it today, then I’ll run it after work tomorrow. I’ve got to get the run in no matter what!!!!

So we came home to walk in the door to only find a cute face up in our closet getting warm. How cute is he?

We decided to start cooking it up! I felt like eating a grilled chicken wrap for lunch and the hubs wanted to go ahead and make another batch of Chicken Tortilla Soup for this next week.

I piled my wrap with chicken, spring mix lettuce, red and yellow sweet peppers, sour cream, shredded cheese and salsa.

A little salsa and a few chips on the side.

A peanut butter cookie for dessert.

My belly is full and I’m ready to relax. Hopefully it’ll clear up outside so I can run later! See you friends tonight!!

Question of the Day: Do you prefer running outside or on the treadmill?

6 Responses

  1. The Fresh Market is fun! Feels like a fancy schmancy whole foods. 🙂 Ugh I thought I loved the treadmill until my runs got longer and I ran outside more, now I dread if I have to run on the treadmill. I did two miles the other day on it and it was awful. I was dripping in sweat too!! It was so warm in our apartment gym, blah!

  2. Oh my!! I love food too!! Love how you take pictures of the food as well… I do the same!!! You must try pho…the best Vietnamese food in the world!! The salsa looks amazing by the way…and you work out, stay fit, and take care of your health… Good exercise n good eats make for a long and happy life!! Cheers to that!!! Enjoyed your blog:)

  3. Love your new blog! My mouth literally dropped when you said you were going to run 11 miles on a treadmill! Before I was pregnant I ran 4 and now just three. I would rather run outside hands down. But with Rylie that doesn’t happen much. Good luck on your future race!

    • Aundrea,

      I love your blog too!! I’m so excited for you to have a little boy running around! And good for you for still running even when pregnant! I’m hoping to continue to run when I’m preggers too.

Leave a Reply

