• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

A Picture in Mind

The rest of the day we had a steady trickle of patients so I was actually able to get my snack in, unlike my non-existent breakfast. I had a gorgeous red apple with 3/4 tablespoon of peanut butter in between bites. I think this is a perfect go to snack because of the substance.

I’m glad I waited until around 5 because I knew I was running after work so I needed a little boost.

Within 5 minutes of getting home, I was laced up and out the door. I knew I needed to go on an easy run tonight instead of pushing it super hard. I’ve pushed myself the last two runs really hard so I decided to give my body a nice break and take it nice and slow. I ended up running 3 miles in 31:30. That made my average pace about 10:30 minute/mile. My body was definitely thanking me for relaxing a bit. I had a little dangling carrot in my mind that pushed me to run and to finish. It was hard to get out and run when I was absolutely HANGRY!!! Not just hungry but HANGRY! I knew the hubs would have a hamburger waiting on me when I got in from my run and it didn’t let me down.

It looks all raggedy because I tore off the surrounding edges of the bread because there was so much excess bread. No side dishes tonight since I already had some BBQ chips at lunch earlier.

After dinner I hurried up to make my lunch for tomorrow. I made some tuna salad. I LOVE tuna salad and could probably eat it everyday of my life and be perfectly content. I used to make it all the time but I haven’t made it in about a year.

My ingredients:

Hard Boiled Egg

Squirt of Mayo

Couple squirts of sweet relish

Lots of cracked pepper

Can of Starkist Tuna in Water (Drained of course)

I love adding an egg to my tuna salad because it adds so much substance!

Guess who was right there when I opened the can of tuna?! This little booger.

I always drain a little tuna juice for them in their food bowl and they LOVE their momma for it.

The finished product. I’ve decided to go the sandwich route for tomorrow instead of just crackers.

I’m so excited because I’ve run 3 miles, showered, eaten dinner, prepared my breakfast, lunch and snack for tomorrow, drank my cup of hot chocolate, blogged… all in less than an hour and a half of getting home from work! Wow! I wish every night was that productive!

I’m off to go read a little and doze off quickly I hope. Up early again tomorrow for work. See you friends tomorrow.

Question of the Day: Do you ever use food as your motivation to run? If so, which foods motivate you?

One Response

  1. Have you tried the new Starkist Tuna salad in a pouch? Might be a quick way for you to take tuna to work! I LOVE them. Idon’t worry about adding too much mayo that way. But I do add cracked pepper to it! Striaght from the pouch to the bread. No mixing bowl required.

Leave a Reply

