• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Pizza Cookie=Pure Goodness

Alright, I caved. The hubs and I ended up making a run to BoomBozz Pizza for dessert. We knew exactly what we would order for dessert… a pizza cookie. This dessert is our go to dessert for when we are really craving something gooey and choolatey and down right bad for us. Chad ended up eating about 3/4 of the cookie and I ate the other 1/4. So insanely good and fulfilling. We love it because they don’t necessarily cook the chocolate chip cookie all the way through to where it’s done so you have an extremely gooey, delicious dessert topped with chocolate syrup and vanilla ice cream. Too good for words.

We came home planning on taking a Sunday afternoon nap which we haven’t done in who knows how long. We climbed into bed, starting watching The Biggest Loser from last week and before we knew it, we were snoozing. We slept only about an hour but it was long enough to be satisfied.

I knew I wanted to get some strength training in today since I didn’t have my long run today due to the ice so I hopped to it with several sets of pull-ups, push-ups, back exercises and abs. I am going to try to take several pictures of my strength training days if I can to visibly show you all what I’m doing.

The first of the pictures is me doing some wide legged, wide armed push-ups.

I always do a set of two of each kind of push-up I do. I usually try to get in standard, military, wide legged, and downward push-ups.

Here’s an example of my downward push-ups.

I didn’t get any pictures in of my pull-ups. Maybe next time.

Here’s a couple examples of ab exercises I do each time. First up, I leave my arms up in the air, bend my knees to where my feet are off the ground and then lean back, straighten legs (but keep off the ground), and curl back up, and repeat 25 times.

The next set I photographed is my favorite ab exercise out there. You can do these empty handed, with a medicine ball or a free weight. Here I am empty handing it. These really work your obliques. Feet and legs off the ground, keep your knees slightly bent, upper body at a 45 -90 degree angle. (Tip: The closer your upper body and shoulders are to the ground, the harder) I’m showing the basic movement here:

Keep arms slightly bent and pull arms from left to right over your knees all the way to your side. I repeat each side 25 times. This is meant to be performed at more of a fast tempo and it’s killer!!! You’ll definitely feel the burn.

P.S. Don’t mind my socks. It’s been super cold here so I have to wear my warm ones! 🙂

Dinner time quickly approached and since we weren’t starving we decided on a big green, leafy salad filled with lots of goodies. Mine is Organic Spring Mix Lettuce, avocado, onion, tomatoes, sprinkle of Italian cheese and homemade Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing.

Confession: This is the first time I’ve ever eaten avocado! Shocker and wrong I know! It’s different but not in a bad way. I’ve also never eaten tomatoes up until this past month and now I love them!!!

In the dressing we had Balsamic Vinegar, few cloves of garlic, extra virgin olive oil, lemon juice and basil.

Too delicious. I’m usually a hardcore Ranch dressing girl but I told y’all yesterday that I’m revamping my diet and I already taste tested the dressing and it really is so good!!! The hubs made extra so I can take it to work or use it at home when needed. I love making all of this stuff from scratch!!!

I’ve packed up another salad for lunch tomorrow. I love planning my meals the night before I work. It makes me mornings so much easier.

The hubs also got creative and cut a tomato in half and topped it with garlic, basil, pepper, olive oil, sea salt and a blend of Italian cheeses and baked it in the oven until the cheeses melted. WOW!!! So good. Definitely a future side dish!

Oh, and I was really relieved to look at my training schedule today and see that I was actually only supposed to run 7 miles this weekend. Alright, yes! I’ve already conquered that so I don’t feel as anxious about not getting my long run in due to the ice. I am definitely still planning on running after work tomorrow but it was nice to take today easy and get my strength training in instead. I started reading my Runner’s World “Run Less Run Faster” today and I had my spirits lifted about running. Knowing that I can train properly, hard and be fast with just running 3 days a week and cross training 2 days a week makes me very excited. I had been feeling really anxious about training. I was getting so anxious that I was thinking about not running the race at all or just running the half. I guess we all over our “off” weeks, right? So I’m back in the game mentally and am even more excited about conquering these 26.2 miles on April 24th!

I just wanted to say a quick thank you to all the people who have been so encouraging with their comments, e-mails, conversations, etc. about ‘A Fit Foodie’.  I figured I’d give a big thank you since this is officially the last day of the first month of this fun blog that I have so enjoyed writing and thinking about.  I have had over 4,000 hits this month and never would’ve imagined!  Let’s double it next month!  I’m so thankful for all my faithful readers.  Can’t wait to continue this journey.

We’re off to finish watching The Grammy’s! I hope you friends had a relaxing Sunday. See you all tomorrow.

Question of the Day: Have you tried any new foods lately?  If so, what and did you like it?

One Response

  1. Congrats on making it a full month with the blog! I have really come to love it.

    I also recently started eating tomatoes. It’s kind of weird since I LOVE tomato sauce (I am a pasta addict… when not trying to lose half my body weight) and tomato soup, but I couldn’t stand raw tomatoes in salads or on sandwiches. So I’ve been trying to eat them a lot more lately. I am not totally sold yet, but they’re not that bad.

    Aside from eating tomatoes more reguarly, the only other new thing I’ve tried recently is pomagranate. I got really into them over the holidays, and they are AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

