• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Groceries, Girls and Gabbing

Last night’s slumber party turned out to not be a slumber party after all, as in none of us ended up spending the night at Kelsey’s.  We all ate, talked and put on make-up until about midnight and we all called it a night.  I was selfishly excited to get home to sleep in the bed alongside my husband but was thankful for such a great girls night.  I made new friends and developed newer friendships on a more deeper, grounded level.  It’s always fun to have some quality girl time every now and then.  Can I hear an Amen?

This morning my body was wide awake at 9:30.  Seriously?  Why in the world, after getting to sleep at 2 am was I up at 9:30 am?  I know that’s super late to sleep in for some people but considering I’m awake at 5:30 am five days a week for my job, not so much.  One thing I majorly love about my rare days off is the sleeping in part.  So what better thing to do then go ahead and run some errands?!  Chad and I had major grocery shopping to accomplish so we set out to Whole Foods first.

LOVE Whole Foods and I think it’s my new obsession. We came out with some great stuff but we didn’t get all of our grocery shopping finished with just that one stop.  We ended up hitting up two more places before we got everything we needed.  Don’t you think we’re stocked up for a few weeks now?

The stocked fridge, full of fruits and veggies.

Our makeshift pantry/cabinet.  All organized.

I even bought some new tupperware when we were at Sam’s today.  I definitely was in need of some new tupperware to have better to go containers for taking my breakfast and lunch to work.  I’m really excited about these. They all “click” together so my cabinet is super organized looking.  It even came with two of them that had three divided sections.  That’ll be really helpful with packing a lunch.  Less containers=less hassle.

Look at my favorite buy of the day.  Really excited to break into the almond butter world.

Judging by my grocery shopping, I can safely say that I am officially revamping my eating habits.  I bought big girl oats (aka: steel cut oats) instead of my regular first grade fruits and cream instant oatmeal, copious amounts of fruits and veggies, Balsamic Vinegar to make my own homemade dressing, ingredients to make our own whole wheat pizza, etc.  I’m so ready to dive into everything.  So you’ll be seeing lots of tasty, delectable, healthy meals in the future.

After a quick unloading of the groceries it was off to file our taxes.  It honestly took less than 30 minutes to file and get out the door.  So glad it’s over with so we don’t have to think about something else being on our to do list.  I had another girls night planned for tonight.  We were meeting at Senor Iguana’s Mexican restaurant for dinner.  I have to confess something because I promised when I started this blog that I would be honest about my food choices.  The hubs and I headed out for errands right after waking up and didn’t finish until 3 in the afternoon and then we filed our taxes, didn’t get home until 5 pm and so I didn’t eat today until dinner time.  I know that’s an awful thing to do to my body but it just sort of happened that way.  So I sat down at the restaurant grateful to get some food in my system.

I started out eating chips and salsa.

I ended up just ordering a soft chicken taco for my meal because I knew after my chips and salsa that I wouldn’t be as hungry for a full Mexican meal.

I’m thankful I did just order that because I was full by the time I left.  I think me downing 3 glasses of water helped.  I was so thirsty!!

We all separated and went to our separate abodes.  I quickly headed home to settle in on the couch and watch the Miss America pageant with the hubs.  Yes, he loves me that much to sit and watch a pageant.  Last year we were in Las Vegas watching it live in the audience because one of my best friends was Miss New York last year.  And not to mention the fact of why I truly love pageants so much… I competed in pageants from the ages to 15-21 and met some of my very best girl friends that way.  I loved competing and do miss it when I watch the pageants from the audience.  So to celebrate the crowning of the 2010 Miss America, I decided to drink a cup of hot chocolate.

I’m thoroughly enjoying myself right now so I’m going to end the post with my question of the day.

Question of the Day: What state are you from and are you/did you, watch the Miss America pageant?  Or better yet, have you ever competed in a pageant?  If so, which ones?!

Leave a Reply

