• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Scare Tactics

Last night I was asleep faster than I could lay my head on the pillow!  The hubs and I read a chapter from one of our new books, “Adopted for Life” by Russell Moore, a professor at the seminary Chad is attending for his Masters of Divinity degree.

We have only read the first chapter together and we are already totally engaged in it!  Our goal is to read the whole book together as a husband and wife team and I’m completely looking forward to it.  We do have the desire and feel the calling to adopt children.  How, when, where and what that looks like exactly, we don’t know.  So be praying for us.  The Lord has really put an excitement and urgency in our hearts on this matter.

I slept so soundly last night and was so grateful.  The last few night’s I’ve had more of a restless slumber so I was thankful to get some good sound sleep!  It was up and at ’em to work this morning where we have been SUPER busy which is great because it makes the days go by so much faster.  I started off my day at work with breakfast and it was the second half of the cinnamon bagel from yesterday.

Lunch time came later than usual.  I didn’t eat until 2 pm which is a lot later than my usual 11:30 lunch.  I ate my leftovers from our amazing dinner last night.  Just as good and everyone that saw it was envious.  I love great leftovers!

Someone brought to work these Emerald Cocoa Roasted Nuts… I’ve not eaten nuts (except peanuts) since I got sick after eating them when I was little.  The thought and taste of them has made me cringe up until about a month ago when I ate a cookie with nuts added.  I now like almonds and am planning on getting some on our next grocery trip to make my own sort of trail mix.  These cocoa coated ones were perfect and I actually only ate about half of what you see here.

I ended the day planning on going on a run.  The closer I got home, the more I didn’t want to head out on my run.  I got up our four flights of stairs and decided to go ahead and force myself because I can’t keep depriving myself of proper marathon training.  I needed to get my rear out there on the pavement super bad since I didn’t get to run my 9 miles this past weekend.  The hubs was also leading music for an adoption seminar that I couldn’t make it to and the temperatures are supposed to drop tonight and we’re supposed to have ice and sleet overnight so I needed to enjoy the 39 degree weather while I could!  So I put in my earbuds and turned out AOL radio’s Pop Remixes and set off.  I decided that after the first 1.5 miles that I would push myself to do some sprints.  I did random timed sprints the rest of the time and ended up finishing my run with 3 miles in 28:14 minutes.  A lot faster than my 33 minute, 3 mile run from last Monday!  Awesome!  I was so proud of myself for getting out there and just doing it because my body felt amazing afterwards.  I have an 11 mile run this weekend so I’m glad I got a nice run in before then.

I hopped in the shower because I was pretty disgusting and all of a sudden I hear something behind the shower curtain and the hubs scared the poo out of me.  I screamed so loud.  That stinker had snuck in while I was jamming to the music in our shower and decided to take advantage of the prime opportunity to scare me.  Alright, so that’s good and fine.  Then I was drying my hair a little later and he scared me to the point where I screamed again!!!!  Whatever.  I’ll get him back.

I felt great after getting all cleaned up and decided that I felt like eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich so that’s exactly what I made, along with a few Lay’s BBQ chips.

Our cupboards are getting pretty bare and we didn’t have too much to choose from but I was completely satisfied.  Can I just say how excited I am to get my menu ready for February and go major grocery shopping this Saturday?!  SO PUMPED.  I love grocery shopping and now I love it even more that we’re eating more variety and I’m trying so many new things.  It should be interesting.

Anyway, we have a busy day tomorrow with me at work and Chad at school so we decided to go ahead and make our dessert that we need to take to our Community Group gathering for tomorrow night… brownies.  And guess who got to lick the bowl?  Yup, I deserve it after running hard tonight.  Leftover batter from cakes and brownies is my favorite!!

Sorry this post is so late at night.  WordPress was having issues tonight with maintenance and user issues.  So I had to wait patiently to post for today.  Get excited!  Two more days until the weekend.  And i have a big weekend planned… I’ll tell you all about it soon.  🙂  Nighty Night friends.

Question: What’s your favorite dessert?

2 Responses

  1. Most anything with chocolate and or strawberries!

  2. Hard to pick just one! Desserts and sweets are my weakness. I love my great-grandmother’s chocolate pie. We only have it during Christmas because it’s so rich, but it is to die for!

Leave a Reply

