• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Comfort Food

Last night’s dinner was so great. Comfort food down to the last bite. The chicken tortilla soup was a hit and the hubs homemade salsa was awesome!

The chips and dip were right in the middle of the table and I couldn’t keep my little paws away from them.

My appetite had come back with a vengence once I started chowing down. I did eat only one bowl of chicken tortilla soup so it’s the chips that snagged me bad!

Seriously, would you be able to resist?

It was good times with friends filled with great conversation. We could’ve sat and talked all night but the time came to wrap it up after we had dessert. Dessert was made by Liz and it was diced apples, craisins topped with wheat flour and oats. Delish! They brought over some vanilla ice cream to top it off. I stayed light on the ice cream and was completely satisfied.

I didn’t get to sleep until 11:15 last night! I was pretty pooped from all the traveling and was feeling good with warm soup in my belly but I wanted to stay up and watch my Grey’s Anatomy I DVR’ed from last Thursday since I was in Vegas. I’m praying tonight will be a much earlier night for me. I’m thinking I’m going to head on a run tomorrow evening because today has been drizzly and yucky. I’m anxious to start reading my new books too! Maybe that’ll be my downtime later tonight!

P.S. Can I just say how good I slept last night because I was in my own bed, next to my hubs and two sweet kitties curled up at my feet!? The best!

I have refrigerated the leftover soup so it’ll be my lunch for the rest of the week… starting today.

Recipe for chicken tortilla soup:

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 (16 ounce) can chili beans
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans
  • 1 (15 ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can or bottle beer
  • 2 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chilies, undrained
  • 1 (1.25 ounce) package taco seasoning
  • 3 whole skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • shredded Cheddar cheese (optional)
  • sour cream (optional)
  • crushed tortilla chips (optional)

Directions

  1. Place the onion, chili beans, black beans, corn, tomato sauce, beer, and diced tomatoes in a slow cooker. Add taco seasoning, and stir to blend. Lay chicken breasts on top of the mixture, pressing down slightly until just covered by the other ingredients. Set slow cooker for low heat, cover, and cook for 5 hours.
  2. Remove chicken breasts from the soup, and allow to cool long enough to be handled. Stir the shredded chicken back into the soup, and continue cooking for 2 hours. Serve topped with shredded Cheddar cheese, a dollop of sour cream, and crushed tortilla chips, if desired.

Recipe for Chad’s homemade salsa:

  • Can of Rotel (Whatever flavor you like)
  • Can of Whole Tomatoes (15 oz.)
  • Tablespoon of minced garlic
  • Chopped Onion
  • Cilantro to taste

Directions

  1. Place all above ingredients in blender and blend to thick or thinness of choice
  2. Add lime juice and salt to taste
  3. Serve with chips and enjoy!

I swear that the soup and salsa is even better in the days following because it’s had time to sit and marinate. I know it’ll be boring for y’all to see the same ole lunch this week but it’s so good and I don’t want to waste something so tasty!!

Dinner tonight was grilled boneless pork loin chops, pasta salad and a Sister Schubert’s roll. I haven’t had a roll with dinner in FOREVER! And I remember why I love them so. They are heavenly!

The hubs and I also had a little cup of hot chocolate… it’s been a while since we’ve made any, surprisingly. I needed something to quench my sweet craving and this was the perfect fix!

I’m off to hopefully do a little reading of my new books before I start watching The Bachelor!

One Response

  1. thats actually on my list to make this week!

Leave a Reply

