• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Home Sweet Home

I am back at home in my own living room in Louisville, Kentucky. What a great feeling. I am pretty worn out from the whirlwind of a trip from this weekend in Vegas. Last night I said we were going to be headed to have dinner at this restaurant called Ago and that ended up falling through at the last minute. So the girls decided to go eat at Maggiano’s and since I wasn’t going to be going out with afterwards, I decided to stay at the hotel and rest. The 5 a.m. wake up call would be coming way too soon and I didn’t want to have to worry about catching a cab back by myself at 10 o’clock at night in Vegas. I figured I’d grab dinner downstairs at the food court but actually didn’t get hungry at all so I ended up showering, packing and falling asleep while watching Nancy Grace on TV.

The 5 o’clock wake up call was tough. My body did not want to cooperate with getting out of bed but I made my body get up and go through the motions of getting ready to fly out. I got to the airport 2 hours earlier than my 8 a.m. flight and decided to skip breakfast at the airport because all that was in my terminal was Starbuck’s and Cinnabon. I figured I’d eat a light snack on the plane such as the elaborate peanuts they are only giving out now. Much to my surprise, they served us breakfast! I haven’t been served a real meal on a flight since I flew to South Africa almost 5 years ago! So I had a healthy breakfast of Total Cereal with raisins to add in, 2% milk and a water. I was so excited!!

I had a super quick 50 minute lay over in Houston before my flight to Louisville took off and I slept the entire way to Louisville. I told you I’m tired. I was ready to get in Louisville and hug my husband’s neck off. I have missed him so!!! It’s always the best feeling of comfort to be with my husband after being away. My soul feels at rest when I’m with them, no matter where we are. So I was thankful to be back at his side.

I quickly unpacked and am now sitting here blogging away. We are having friends over within the next hour for dinner. The menu consists of Chicken Tortilla Soup. It’s been so rainy and chilly here in Louisville lately that soup seemed like the best comfort dinner. Chad also made some of his homemade salsa. (Recipe courtesy of our dear friend Lindsey) I will post the recipes for chicken tortilla soup and the salsa later. I’m still not feeling that hungry and have no idea why… my body just doesn’t seem to be wanting food right now but I’m sure once I get a few bites in that I’ll be wanting more!

Oh and I’m really excited that my books, “The Skinnygirl Dish” by Bethenny Frankel and “Run Less Run Faster” by Bill Pierce, Scott Murr and Ray Moss came in!! I’ll be diving in soon! And speaking of running, it is time to get my rear back on the pavement because three months from today I will be running 26.2 miles! Great news I received the other day is I’ll be having a running buddy for the whole marathon. One of my friends from Memphis is driving to Louisville to run it with me! How awesome! So glad we’ll be pushing each other the whole way!

Alright friends, I’m off to freshen up for dinner and finish my table setting. Hope everyone had a great weekend. It’s great to be back in the real world routine of things!

Leave a Reply

