• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

I’m Officially 100% Again!

Alright, tonight proved it. I’m finally my 100% self again! I went out for my 3 mile run after work and hit it hard and was able to push myself to run the whole time. It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve been able to go on a run without having to take a few 30 second breaks to be able to finish due to me not feeling too well. And I am so excited that I am back to my optimal self again. For the last couple of weeks I was feeling really down on myself about not being able to accomplish my running mileage like I wanted to and thought a hundred several times, that I maybe wasn’t cut out to be a runner, let alone, a marathoner. SOOOOO…. I’m feeling a much needed renewal tonight after my run. I loved that I pushed myself, I loved that I was breathing at an even pace, I loved that I came in the door sweating and most importantly loved the feeling of hope that I can and will complete this marathon in 3 months! So you’ll have to excuse me but I’m on a runner’s high right now. 🙂 Even if it was only 3 miles but now I’m more pumped for my 9 mile run in Las Vegas later this week!

Alright, let me not skip ahead too much. Thankfully, the rest of my day flew by at work. I was the circulating nurse for the operating room today with c-section cases and before I knew it, it was 5:30 pm and I hadn’t eaten my mid afternoon snack yet. One of our OB Techs brought a whole box of pears to work today and believe it or not, I have never eaten a pear in my whole life! I’ve not even tasted a pear I don’t think. I know it’s a monumental day for eating my first pear but I was actually pleasantly surprised. I think pears just might be a staple part of a snack. P.S. Can anyone tell me why I’ve read that people microwave their pears?

After I got in from my run Chad had dinner made and ready on the table. It was seafood ravioli with lite alfredo sauce. I was proud of the hubs tonight for two reasons with the first one being: I asked if he was making garlic bread to serve with our meal and he said no because pasta was enough and we didn’t need to add bread (So proud and the answer I was hoping for) and the second being: he barely put any alfredo sauce on our pasta (I was wondering if the pasta would be floating). YAY! I only ate about half of my pasta. The seafood ravioli (lobster and crab meat filled) is good but I don’t think it’s great enough to be buying over and over for our meals. I think I’d rather have spaghetti or meat ravioli. I’m not complaining though. I’ll just know better next time.

Last month I decided that Chad and I would buy one sweet treat at the store a month, like cookies, cake, brownies, ice cream, etc., because if it is sitting around, we’ll just eat it and indulge every night. So today decided this was the day to buy our sweet treat for this month and he’s decided to make cake balls. I’ve already tried the mixture and it is soooooo sinful. OMG! I’m going to have a really hard time resisting eating 20 of these little teasers. We’re not sure yet, if they will be completely finished tonight because the cake mixture has to cool before we can dip it in the chocolate. In the end it will look like a truffle. Thank goodness I’m leaving for Vegas Thursday so Chad can have them all to himself. Here’s what the process looks like so far.

Me taste testing the cake mix that was leftover in the mixing bowl. I gave it an ‘E’ for Excellent! P.S. Excuse the sweaty mess, this was AFTER working 12 hours and my 3 mile run.

A) Cook cake of your choice (we used Devil’s Food Cake).

B) Crumble up the cooked cake into a large bowl.

C) Mix a frosting of your choice into the crumbled cake mix (we used plain chocolate fudge icing).

D) Roll into ball sizes of your preference.

E) Refrigerate (or set by open window like we did) cake balls until cool and solid enough to be able to dip in chocolate and not have them crumble.

~Pictures and last steps will continue tomorrow as ours will not be finished until later~

So that just means you have to check back tomorrow to see the finished product!

Let me leave you with this, my hubs actually just placed the tray of cake balls outside on the edge of our balcony. (We’re 4 floors up!) Seriously? I can totally see a gust of wind picking them right up and them all falling to the ground. Oopsie. Let’s hope this doesn’t happen! Nightie night friends!

2 Responses

  1. I just happened across your blog – I am addicted to reading random peoples’ blogs I think – and had to comment on your marathon training post. I just ran my first marathon in Dec. and training for it was exactly as you described… there were weeks where I just about decided I would never run again after it was over, because I just got sooo tired of it, and it seemed wayyy too hard. The feeling can last almost long enough to send me into a state of depression, but I would eventually snap out of it. And those runs after you get over that hump are GLORIOUS! 🙂

  2. […] hubs is now making cake balls.  Click Here and Here for the two part […]

Leave a Reply

