• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

I Love Free!

I hate having to work the weekend and I wish I was able to have every Sunday off so I could spend it at church but I don’t so I have to deal with it. Usually Sunday morning is doughnut day on our floor at the hospital but today we had no doughnuts (which I’ve been refraining from anyway) but one of our doctors offered to buy us all lunch from Jimmy John’s Gourmet Sandwich Shop! I ordered the #7- The Gourmet Smoked Ham Club without mayo but add banana peppers and onion. It was sooooo good! I only ate half (I think that’s the new motto of my eating habits! Only eat half!) to save the rest for tomorrow. I also got a side of their Jimmy John’s BBQ chips and they are more like mesquite kettle chips. I only ate half of those too (surprise surprise). I looked up the nutritional info when I got home and my sandwich was like 600 calories for the whole sandwich because I ate it on wheat and without mayo and the chips were only 150 calories for the whole bag. Not too bad. Only about 400 calories for my whole lunch and the best part it was free!!!

Doesn’t it look great, even in pictures?!

One of our nurses also had brought a tortilla chicken soup that I tried a spoonful of and I totally walked away with the recipe. It is definitely a soup worth making soon! And she said I can freeze the leftovers for up to two months. I’m all about that! Chad and I desperately need to hit up the grocery store for my fruits and veggies but I’m thinking that will have to wait until after I get back from my girls trip to Vegas this next weekend. No since in buying it all up and it going bad since I won’t be here to eat it. Ya know?

I came home tonight planning on running an easy three miles but it’s been raining here and so that nixed my plans right in the bud. I came home, instead, to a home cooked meal. No more eating out and ordering pizza for a while! Time to get back in the swing of eating at home again. The hubs cooked up some flank steak, baked beans and green beans. Not too elaborate but good, nonetheless.

I’m off to do some strength training. Tonight it shall be arms and abs. See you guys tomorrow! Hope everyone enjoyed their weekend! Back to the grind tomorrow!

One Response

  1. Don’t forget your stolen banana snack…..lol j/k

Leave a Reply

