• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Rest Day? Nope. Work Day? Yes.

Technically today was the “rest day” for my body since I hit it hard with my long run yesterday but it wasn’t a rest day when it came to work. This is my weekend to work so I was up and at ’em at 5:30 this morning and was pleasantly surprised when my joints moved freely. In the past, my joints have just screamed at me every 1st day after a long, intense run. So I am pretty pumped that my body is getting used to this long distance running each week. The only thing that I can say was sore was my sternum from my heart rate monitor strap! Boy is it sure sore! Yeesh. I guess I’m going to either have to get used to it or find a better position for it. Any suggestions on positioning of this monitor so I’m not sore and bruised feeling?

Work went by fairly quickly today. It’s not too usual to have a busy weekend day but it was fairly busy today which always helps make the day fly by. I was so excited to eat the other half of my ham and cheese and pasta salad from Toast on Market from yesterday. Everyone was jealous because it looked so yummy. And it tasted even yummier. No pictures because y’all saw what it looked like yesterday.

The hubs called me at work stating he was craving a pizza. I can’t ever really deny my husband so I told him to do what he wanted so 2 minutes after I walked in our loft, he walked in with a large supreme pizza from Pizza Hut.

I love pizza. And I have a friend, Bobbi, who makes her own pizza crust and it always looks divine and it’s a lot healthier too!! So I definitely need to hop on the bandwagon of making my own pizza and topping it with healthier ingredients. I only had 2 slices and stopped so I’m not mad at myself. I ran my rear off yesterday and still felt pretty famished even today. Chad is planning on making flank steak and asparagus tomorrow night and I’m pretty excited about it. Weekends are usually our time to splurge on food and this weekend we have definitely splurged so I’m ready to get back in our routine of cooking at home and eating healthier.

Soooo…. I’ve decided. My next two book purchases will be “Run Less Run Faster” and “The Skinnygirl Dish” by Bethenny Frankel. I loved her book “Naturally Thin: Unleash Your Skinnygirl” and it has helped me with eating in moderation and knowing that I can eat whatever I want but it doesn’t have to be all at once. Taste everything, eat nothing. Love that motto!

https://i2.wp.com/www.celebritydietdoctor.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/bethenny-frankel-the-skinnygirl-dish-diet-book.jpg

I can’t wait to read it and get some great recipe ideas!!

And I can’t wait to start running less and faster!!!

http://glenstanley.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/run_less_run_faster_cover.jpg

I’m off to settle in for the night. My tummy is just at the right satisfied feeling and I’m ready to snuggle in bed. Hope everyone has a great Sunday tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

